We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stopover at Hilton on way to Andros Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Short stopover at Hilton on way to Andros Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hilton was nice, clean and people were very nice and service oriented. I would go back. Stayed on two Friday nights on the way to and from Andros. One waterfront room overlooked the parking lot which was not so great. Next night was at the other end of the hotel and was very nice.
1 block from the market so very convenient. Cruise ships come in 4-5 / day so look out for masses of shoppers.Food there not so great. Head (walk) away from town to the "fish fry" and
have dinner there. Slow (Bahama time) , but good and fun.

Room Tip: Get end of hotel closest to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent visit with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    635
    303
    159
    99
See reviews for
303
704
121
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton in February of 2013. We knew that we weren't staying on Paradise Island and that it wasn't going to be the nicest hotel, but we expected better than what we got.

The first sign of a bad trip was when we were on the tour bus from the airport. Out of a bus of 30, we were the only couple that wasn't going to Paradise Island. As we pulled up to the hotel, other vacationers were surprised to see us getting off here.

We checked-in to our room that we got from CheapCaribbean. The hotel staff let us know that we would be in a conjoined room and to not open the door. From traveling for business, I HATE conjoined rooms and quickly asked to move. The answer was no.

Our room had a queen bed that was smaller than our bed at home and the room was extremely small as well. You could clearly hear the family next to us in the conjoined room and then a few days later, a group of 4 teenage girls checked-in. We heard everything they did, including them coming back drunk at 3AM and waking up our entire floor. The cleaning staff didn't clean our room until 4PM everyday.

The grounds are a joke where you have a small private beach that is littered by garbage and a small pool. There is a pool bar that is nice but the staff are rude and not welcoming. Everyday, they ran out of towels by 10AM. A family that had just arrived was walking around the grounds looking for a hot tub and I had to disappoint them by letting them know there isn't one.

In addition to the depressing amenities, cruise people can come use the hotel beach/pool/bar for the day. You can imagine having a bunch of drunk teenage kids from cruises come sit on the beach with you screaming and bothering everyone else.

I have to add - the weather was HORRIBLE the entire time we were in the Bahamas so I'm sure it didn't help our less than perfect accommodations.

Food - the food is good, no complaints here. Only thing is that they want to charge you $50 a head for their dinner buffet which included 2 dishes. Insane!

Overall, VERY disappointing and I would recommend going somewhere else - Paradise Island. Save up some extra cash and stay at Atlantis or one of the resorts on the other island. If you are on business, this is perfect for you. Other than that, not what you will expect.

Better yet, save up your money and go to Bermuda because the Bahamas isn't impressing at all. It's boring, the people are rude, and you can't walk down the street without getting attacked by sales people.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we depend upon your feedback to assist us in improving our operations.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food in Aqua, but extremely disappointed that you were disturbed due to the noise next door.

Should you return to our property and there is anything we can do to make your stay comfortable and satisfactory please let us know.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I had a water front view on the 5th floor 581. It was at the end nearest the cruise line docks. This two queen bedded room is huge compared to the others. (see photos) We had read the mixed reviews regarding the noise from the docks and we did not notice any disturbing noise and at one point there were six cruise ships in port. Watching the supersize cruise ships spin end for end in front of the hotel was very entertaining! We had access to the executive lounge and the breakfast was very good, as well as the evening reception (these are reserved for Hilton Honors members) We ate at the Aqua lounge for Saturday and Sunday as the Executive lounge was closed. We found the service there to be great and the hot breakfast better than your average hotel fare. We ate at the bar for one evening and the food was good though expensive (Though not unusual as far a Nassau goes) There is a small restaurant across the street that has soda and water for much less than the hotel store. There is also a liquor store and a McDonald's directly across the street. For those that need to pay for the hotel WiFi, it's free at McD's :) The grounds were well kept and the pool was spotless. They have free snorkeling gear and towels and lounge chairs for the guests. The beach is small but restricted to hotel guests our weather was cool so there were not many people on the beach, not sure what it is like in normal weather. There is also a cabana bar by the pool, pricey, but fun. (Again go across the street to save drinking $$) We had a bathroom that had a shower stall in addition to a regular size bathtub, also very spacious and from the other reviews may not be the norm.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one of the two rooms on the water side of the 7th floor WOW! If you want lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We have read your comments with great interest and appreciate the spirit in which it was written.

We are pleased with your positive comments regarding our Team members and delighted that you were provided with a 'Hilton' experience.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family arrived at the BC Hilton today, what an extraordinary disappointment! Our room is absolute rubbish! The safe didn't work, the phone was broken and the bathroom (which is little more than a crusty old cubbyhole) faucets were broken. Staff is not prepared to come up with any solutions other than for us to pay for a second room. Meanwhile we have to wait around for maintenance people to come when we should be outside enjoying the sun! The small beach area is filthy and littered with rubbish. Disgusting, certainly not what one would expect from the Hilton chain.

Room Tip: DO NOT PRE-PAY FOR YOUR HOTEL ROOM. They quite clearly place you in the dingiest room when you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on you recent visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable condition of your room as outlined. We can assure you surroundings as described are certainly the exception and not the norm.

Should you return to our property and there is anything we can do to make your visit more comfortable and satisfactory please let us know.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel is location in downtown Nassau. Cab ride from the airport cost $30 w.out tip. I did not encounter a cab that accepted credit cards. All accepted cash. At the hotel they can out a cash advance on your room for a small fee in order to pay the cab fare.

I had booked a city view queen room for $299 per night. I was upgraded to a king suite with a city view. Not a spectacular view, but it was decent. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway.

There is one restaurant onsite. It is more formal, while the same menu is available at the bar. Drinks run around $7.50.

The pool is heated and is located right beside the beach. The sand is immaculate and plenty of chairs available. Towels are available at a beach shack. The beach is small , but private. The water is crystal clear. You can't wade far, it gets deep pretty quick. I would prefer a larger beach with calmer water The beach is protected by a small harbor which houses some cruise ships.

For additional dining there is a local fast food place across the street as well as a mexican restaurant and an irish pub. In addition there is a mcdonald's . Senor frogs is a short walk around the corner.


You can also take a cab to Arawalk, which has a small strip of local restaurants and bars. Taxi's are plentiful. and will cost you around $10 to take you to and from.

The room itself was on the 5th floor and the Hilton Honors executive lounge is on the 7th floor, breakfast is included if you are a platinum member.

There are two separate rooms each with a flat screen tv. in the living room the couch pulls out to a double bed. There is also a small sink and mini frig. Between the rooms are heavy wooden doors that can be locked. Which help prevent sound from the hallway reaching the bedroom. While the street can be noisy, I could not hear it from the room. It was very quiet.

The bathroom was covered in white marble tile. You could tell a bit of age, but it was nicely done in a classical way. There was a separate shower and tub.

The room also had a safe in the closet in the bedroom and had a separate closet in the living room.

overall I would stay here again for business, but if you were here with family there is not much to do other than spend time at the beach. If you are looking for a nice quiet place to relax, this is your place. I was able to spend time each morning and each evening on the beach before sunset.

Downtown is a safe place to walk after dark.

Room Tip: while the beach and water are nice, unless you're staying in the room during the day, save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the beach and satisfied with your room accomodations.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Easily walkable from cruise port. Beautiful resort, top notch. Great way to spend part of your day in Nassau. For $60 each, we purchased a day pass to use while our cruise ship docked in Nassau. We pre-purchased on-line with $20 down. Paid the balance at the desk when we got there - no hassle, no lines, smooth sailing all the way. For $60 you get $40 in food/drink vouchers, so it's an excellent deal even in light of the (as you might expect) very high drink prices. You get to use their pool and chaise lounges (the really cool ones!!) on their privately accessed area of beachfront. In order to get a beach towel, you are supposed to give them your license which they hold until you return your towel. I found that my employer/school ID (with picture) worked and I didn't need to worry about never seeing my license again. Had to walk to outdoor bar to get our own drinks as the pool server was never in our area at the right time it seemed.. no big deal though. Drinks are very weak but that's why they give you $40 to spend on them. (-:

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the day and amenities extended to you.

We are disappointed to hear that you had to walk and collect your drinks as the server may not have been available at the time. Please accept our apology.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.


Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and it was outrageously expensive for a very average hotel. It is shabby and not very friendly.
Food was also very low standard and very expensive.
Drinks are crazy prices.
The three days cost 5000 dollars for me and my friend

Never again and would not recommend to anyone.

Maurice Healy from Ireland.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We regret very much that you were not satisfied with your stay and sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service you received.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.