We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The British Colonial Hilton is an older hotel that is right by the cruise ship docks in downtown Nassau. It is well kept and quite beautiful. The pool is fabulous with bed like loungers that are surrounded by white flowing curtains which can be closed for privacy if you want to nap or read a good book. As Hilton Honors members we were upgraded to a corner room and the view was amazing. Watching cruise ships come in and dock right outside your window is surreal. There is a private beach and the water is that perfect blue that cannot be described! We had breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant. We chose the continental breakfast that was more than enough with many pastries and wonderful fresh fruit. Towels are provided at the beachfront and can be taken off site as well for any adventures you might take. This hotel is close to restaurants and most tour buses pick up here. It is also walking distance from Fish Fry which is the place where all locals go to eat - shanty like restaurants all in a row with great fish and drinks. Downtown shops are also within walking distance but they are mostly T-shirt shops or very high end Cartier type stores. Nothing in the middle price wise. There is a concierge in the hotel lobby who is very helpful. This hotel is somewhat expensive, but so is all of Nassau.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view! We were upgraded to a corner room that had windows on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    636
    304
    159
    99
See reviews for
303
705
121
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Right in the city with a beach! All choices of transportation at this hotel. Ideal for a vacation getaway. Pool and Beach are wonderful. Walk down beach to other beaches ..all connected. If you want expansive beach then go to Exuma or Eleuthra Island but the action is at the Hilton downtown. The rooms are small but renovated and clean. Staff are excellent. We attended the New Year's Eve festivities and the food was endless and delicious. Free flowing champagne too. Ms Damianos is a wonderful dining room manager along with her attentive staff. We have stayed many times and never disappointed.
Walking distance to famous fish fry at Arawak key. The room rates are good value. Being downtown all kinds of choices to eat outside hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. I am extremely pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay, and delighted that our employees provided excellent service. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I were there 2 weeks ago for our honeymoon. We had a great experience because the staff treated us like royalty, especially Brett and Ainsley. They had us set up on the beach every morning and sent amenities to our room. We wanted to go to the beach across the harbor from the hotel. We asked Brett if he could make it happen and he did. We also enoyed being within walkin distance from Junkanoo Beach and the Straw Market. We had a great time with the people at the Tiki Bikini bar as well. The hotel is not the nicest hotel we have stayed in, but our room was comfortable and clean. We stayed on the 6th floor. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Brett and Ainsley know they helped you have a great stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'm a corporate pilot and stay many hotels. Unfortunately this one gets a little worse every visit.

The grounds are beautiful and kept well. The same goes for the private beach.

They actually seemed to have improved the WiFi coverage on the property and at least the room I stayed in 574. They have apparently done away with wired LAN connections in the rooms. They are still there but inactive and not labeled inactive.

The lobby, bar and restaurant are all well maintained and clean. The restaurant has a buffet breakfast ($24) and Dinner ($45). Breakfast is consistently outstanding. Dinner is hit and miss. When they do a seafood based buffet (Saturday) it is very good. When they do meats, it needs help as many of the meats are cold. When I got there at 6pm the chicken and lamb were cold and warming in the steamer trays.

The rooms have a comfortable mattress and nice linens. The LCD TV is nice as well as the channel selection. The refrigerator was unplugged and warm.

The bathroom was another story. The sink had about a 12in crack in the bowl. Underneath the vanity was dirty and the tile had some debris on it the length of the wall. The tub had rust stains. The water pressure in the shower was terrible. It could best be described as taking a shower under a drip. The water from the sink would routinely come out rust colored.

Overall a nice hotel, and except for the bathrooms, not bad for the Bahamas.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

very good hotel and accomodation. be aware that the hotel charges $12 per night per person for electricity and $5 for houskeeping (apart from the rate of the room).
The beach is close to the cruises port, so the water is not so clear like most of the beaches in Bahamas.
Recommended tours: SANDY TOES, goodman bay beach (public and very clean beach). blue lagoon island (beach not so good, but OK if you go with kids)
Hotel is close to the main center of Nassau, at a walking distance of most of the good restaurants.
Definitly Bahamas is a good choice for vacations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in Jan. 2013. This is a completely average hotel in the "heart" of downtown Nassau. We thought it would be nice to explore the city and not be restricted to an all-inclusive resort, which we have done a lot of in the past. We were wrong! The prices at this hotel are outrageous for food and drinks. The pool and beach are very small. The room was comfortable but small as well. The area only caters to the cruise ships and everything closes at 5pm. The only place in the area to go in the evening is Serior Frog around the corner and there are 10-15 people there in the evenings. The surrounding beaches are full of garbage and in the evenings there are rats everywhere. My husband and I were having an after dinner coffee poolside at 8pm and saw 5 huge rats in 10 minutes and that was enough for me. We decded to stay inside. I did not go to the Bahamas to sit inside the hotel room but on the other hand I do not enjoy sitting with rats crawling around my feet.
All in all this hotel and Nassau in general was a HUGE disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Don't waste your time or hard earned money staying here. This hotel is a dump. It has seen better times. And for the price, wow you can do a lot better. Let's just say, the rooms are in need of re-doing and the bathrooms (mold everywhere) are gross. Food is okay. Most staff were okay too except one snotty waitress at breakfast. But seriously - stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.