We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Owen Sound, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Return visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We found the hotel very clean & the bed very comfortable. The room was not large but certainly adequate. The room appeared to have been updated, especially the bathroom. The staff were very accommodating & friendly.The pool area was clean & had adequate variety of lounging furniture. The hotel is located right downtown & you can walk or take the local bus to enjoy the area. Over all we were very pleased with our stay. We were here for 4 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay.

We are truly glad that we met your expectations thanks to our friendly staff, our comfortable rooms and our private beach and pool.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    703
    348
    178
    110
See reviews for
355
764
134
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 days and enjoyed every minute. The staff is so welcoming, helpful and attentive. The food was always fresh and delicious. The beach and pool facilities were great and never crowded. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided and I am very glad that you enjoyed our food along with our pool and beach facilities.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This jewel of a hotel with its own private beach within walking distance to everything is a gem !
The facility is immaculate
The staff is attentive
The grounds are beautifully maintained
A true fine in Nassau
This is what a Hilton should be
A true class act

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay.

We are truly glad that we met your expectations thanks to our private beach, our facilities, our wonderful team and our great location in town.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned for a trip over new years where we got engaged so my memories may be overinflated because we had such a good trip. Pros: staff were wonderful! the concierge, our room attendant, the bar staff, room service staff were all so friendly and helpful. the room was very nice. the pool area was gorgeous- the hotel was packed and there were always plenty of comfy lounge chairs. the beach area is pretty. This hotel is close to downtown so you can walk to restaurants, its a quick cab to paradise island, we were there for new years so we could walk to the Junkanoo parade. Cons: the beach is pretty but there are much prettier beaches in the bahamas. the hotel menu felt a little limited after eating there for a few days (but there is so much around you just have to venture outside the hotel). we had a bay view room but the view was limited and there are no balconies. overall would definitely choose this if you want to be close to downtown and perhaps choose something more remote if you are going for the beach and water activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with our service. We are truly glad that we met your expectations thanks to our room attendant, bar staff, room service staff, doormen and our concierge team.

Your comments are very valuable to us and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent four nights at the BC Hilton between December 28th and January 1st. The hotel is centrally located with many things to do and see within walking distance and a short taxi ride to other attractions (such as The Atlantis and the Fish Fry areas). We were a group of 11 and had five rooms. The rooms were all in good order with no significant issues. The bathrooms were large, the rooms had a refrigerator, and the AC systems, lighting, and TVs all worked well. Internet access in the rooms is hard wired, while internet access in the lobby area is wireless. Most of the time the connections were fine. Room pricing isn't on the low end, but neither is it the most expensive. Food and drink quality was good, although pricey and might be expected. Service was cordial, but at a "Bahamian Pace" (meaning...don't expect rapid-fire food or drink appearing at your table, but don't take it as inattentiveness either). Our group included Diamond, Gold, and Blue Hilton members, so it ran the spectrum of add-on services. The hotel staff was cordial and helpful in arranging taxis, trips, or other needs.
There is a sundry shop in the lobby that has a reasonable assortment of snacks, souvenirs, etc. We used it for soft drinks and water for convenience. A few "Helpful Hints" to consider:
1) Bar drinks are on the pricey side, but if you go across the street, there is a duty free liquor store that offers beer and liquors. A bottle of gin or rum or such can be had for between $8 and $14. That, along with a soda or mixer and some plastic cups, can go a long way when sitting out by the water or in the hotel garden area. Although you will see signs that they "Do not accept cash", that seemed true only at the pool/beach bar area (Where you used room charge or credit card). Otherwise the other food and drink areas in the hotel would take cash.
2) Keep in mind that in the Bahamas all food/drink service already has a service charge (tip) included in pricing. It is a 15% charge automatically added to your tab. We generally added a few dollars, but don't assume that you need to add 15-20% as a gratuity to you bill....it is in there.
3) Taxis are not cheap, but neither are they too pricey. Generally, the fare quoted is for the first two occupants with each additional occupant at $3. The price does not include gratuity so a few dollars added on is appropriate. Taxi drivers were all considerate, polite, and helpful answering questions about the area.
4) The market area is located about one-block from the hotel. It serves the cruise ship passengers so it is open from about 9 a.m. until about 5 pm. After that, the area is mostly closed shops. The Straw Market has the expected "Tourist Souvenirs" along with some interesting wood-carvings.
5) The Fish Fry area has excellent food at nice prices. We took a taxi once as well as walked. About a 15 minute walk along the water. We ate at a few places...Frankie Gone Bananas was just "OK". Other smaller food stalls had better prices and were less "Franchise" feeling. Walk a bit and take your pick. On Friday and Saturday evenings there is a "Food Truck" type set up across the street from the main Fish Fry area. The gentleman's set up is "The Grill Master". Great food, nice pricing, and popular with the locals and those tourists willing to walk across the street. Order your food, watch him fix it, and enjoy on a picnic table.
All in all, we would consider the BC Hilton on a next trip...although perhaps during a less crowded time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay and that we met your expectations.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is one of the few Hiltons where there is a difference on how you are treated based on whether you are diamond HHonors member or gold member. Diamond members get access to the executive lounge, gold members do not. Diamond members get access to free breakfast at the lounge, gold members basically get a discount at the restaurant downstairs. Diamond members get a true upgrade, gold members do not.

The first time I visited this hotel I was a gold member, the second time, I was a diamond member, and there was a huge difference on how I was treated.

The rooms are nice, the harbor view is a nice view and you also get to watch the cruise ships. Some have complained about the cruise ships, I actually enjoyed watching them.

The executive lounge is pretty nice. It is on the small side, but then again few people have access to it.

The beach area has a bit of an industrial feel to it. The gym was ok, and the internet that I received for free as an elite member was nice.

The hotel is on the expensive side, but compared to the Atlantis, it's a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were welcomed very well at this Hilton establishment. The decor is up to date. Our room was clean although we had a little mild in our shower. We stayed in an Executive King with Oceanview and enjoyed the spectacular view. Enjoyed watching the ships come and go throughout the day and relaxed one day in a cabana. I would have given this hotel a "5" but we only had wash cloths our last night of 3. Never got any hand towels at all. The maid fee of $5.00/pp each day is not justified. They even left us a note one afternoon and said they would return with some towels later but never showed up. One evening I had asked guest services for a cork screw and they said they would send one right up, but that didn't show up either. Was a bit disappointed but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. We understand that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the Housekeeping Director for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards.
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.