We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and an overall positive stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com amextravel.com
and 9 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in Nassau
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location and an overall positive stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent four nights at the BC Hilton between December 28th and January 1st. The hotel is centrally located with many things to do and see within walking distance and a short taxi ride to other attractions (such as The Atlantis and the Fish Fry areas). We were a group of 11 and had five rooms. The rooms were all in good order with no significant issues. The bathrooms were large, the rooms had a refrigerator, and the AC systems, lighting, and TVs all worked well. Internet access in the rooms is hard wired, while internet access in the lobby area is wireless. Most of the time the connections were fine. Room pricing isn't on the low end, but neither is it the most expensive. Food and drink quality was good, although pricey and might be expected. Service was cordial, but at a "Bahamian Pace" (meaning...don't expect rapid-fire food or drink appearing at your table, but don't take it as inattentiveness either). Our group included Diamond, Gold, and Blue Hilton members, so it ran the spectrum of add-on services. The hotel staff was cordial and helpful in arranging taxis, trips, or other needs.
There is a sundry shop in the lobby that has a reasonable assortment of snacks, souvenirs, etc. We used it for soft drinks and water for convenience. A few "Helpful Hints" to consider:
1) Bar drinks are on the pricey side, but if you go across the street, there is a duty free liquor store that offers beer and liquors. A bottle of gin or rum or such can be had for between $8 and $14. That, along with a soda or mixer and some plastic cups, can go a long way when sitting out by the water or in the hotel garden area. Although you will see signs that they "Do not accept cash", that seemed true only at the pool/beach bar area (Where you used room charge or credit card). Otherwise the other food and drink areas in the hotel would take cash.
2) Keep in mind that in the Bahamas all food/drink service already has a service charge (tip) included in pricing. It is a 15% charge automatically added to your tab. We generally added a few dollars, but don't assume that you need to add 15-20% as a gratuity to you bill....it is in there.
3) Taxis are not cheap, but neither are they too pricey. Generally, the fare quoted is for the first two occupants with each additional occupant at $3. The price does not include gratuity so a few dollars added on is appropriate. Taxi drivers were all considerate, polite, and helpful answering questions about the area.
4) The market area is located about one-block from the hotel. It serves the cruise ship passengers so it is open from about 9 a.m. until about 5 pm. After that, the area is mostly closed shops. The Straw Market has the expected "Tourist Souvenirs" along with some interesting wood-carvings.
5) The Fish Fry area has excellent food at nice prices. We took a taxi once as well as walked. About a 15 minute walk along the water. We ate at a few places...Frankie Gone Bananas was just "OK". Other smaller food stalls had better prices and were less "Franchise" feeling. Walk a bit and take your pick. On Friday and Saturday evenings there is a "Food Truck" type set up across the street from the main Fish Fry area. The gentleman's set up is "The Grill Master". Great food, nice pricing, and popular with the locals and those tourists willing to walk across the street. Order your food, watch him fix it, and enjoy on a picnic table.
All in all, we would consider the BC Hilton on a next trip...although perhaps during a less crowded time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay and that we met your expectations.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    538
    242
    139
    78
See reviews for
248
584
99
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is one of the few Hiltons where there is a difference on how you are treated based on whether you are diamond HHonors member or gold member. Diamond members get access to the executive lounge, gold members do not. Diamond members get access to free breakfast at the lounge, gold members basically get a discount at the restaurant downstairs. Diamond members get a true upgrade, gold members do not.

The first time I visited this hotel I was a gold member, the second time, I was a diamond member, and there was a huge difference on how I was treated.

The rooms are nice, the harbor view is a nice view and you also get to watch the cruise ships. Some have complained about the cruise ships, I actually enjoyed watching them.

The executive lounge is pretty nice. It is on the small side, but then again few people have access to it.

The beach area has a bit of an industrial feel to it. The gym was ok, and the internet that I received for free as an elite member was nice.

The hotel is on the expensive side, but compared to the Atlantis, it's a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were welcomed very well at this Hilton establishment. The decor is up to date. Our room was clean although we had a little mild in our shower. We stayed in an Executive King with Oceanview and enjoyed the spectacular view. Enjoyed watching the ships come and go throughout the day and relaxed one day in a cabana. I would have given this hotel a "5" but we only had wash cloths our last night of 3. Never got any hand towels at all. The maid fee of $5.00/pp each day is not justified. They even left us a note one afternoon and said they would return with some towels later but never showed up. One evening I had asked guest services for a cork screw and they said they would send one right up, but that didn't show up either. Was a bit disappointed but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. We understand that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the Housekeeping Director for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards.
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a grand heritage property, that obviously had seen better days and suffered from inconsistent service quality throughout our 5 day stay. I made a direct booking at Hilton.com for a still pricey yet non-refundable prepaid rate for 2 rooms. My Diamond status got me an upgrade to a suite for one room and access to the executive floor.
The hotel's location is central in downtown Nassau (yet not much to do there, but a good base for tours). The room's condition was patchy, bathrooms in a shabby condition, showers providing inadequate water pressure, toiletry items re-stocked at random patterns, housekeeping and front desk unreliable in responding to well justified requests. The room had a strong smell of mold and was not properly cleaned upon arrival.
The executive lounge, while recently refurbished is too small and lacking any adequate service ("we might bring more food, if the chef will provide more"). Service attitude throughout our stay was slow and inefficient, while part of that might be local culture, it also points at poor management at the hotel.
The location and private beach are grand, beautiful view to the harbor and cruise ship-terminal. Service at the beach again not at par with any Hilton standard, i.e. advertised "free non-motorized water sports" turned out into a single (!) aged kayak.
Food quality in the restaurant and lounge mixed and overpriced, even at Bahamian standards.
Net -- this property obviously had seen better days and just refurbishing the grand lobby and exteriors will not help gain satisfied customers, as long as not more attention is given to service quality and client-focus. This place could be a flagship for the Hilton brand, in fact it's a shame! Save your money and stay elsewhere, it will save you from disappointment.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations and hospitality possible. Your comments will help us as we continuously work to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing the quality service you deserve.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from an excellent trip to Nassau in the Bahamas. We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton, which is a very nice, downtown, traditional hotel. It is not the largest, or the newest, and its beach is mediocre, but for a downtown, center of things, it is the best. Excellent service. Good food. Nice room.
We were there for the Boxing Day edition of the Junkanoo Parade. Fantastic. If you go to Nassau, you must be there for Junkanoo, which is a 12-hour parade that begins at midnight and continues until noon on December 26 and again January 1 every year. It is like the Mardi Gras, only with horns, drums and cowbells. In truth there is not much else in Nassau except, of course, for good, warm, sunny weather (it was 20 degrees at home and snow), but the Junkanoo is truly unique.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities including the good food as well as our nice rooms.

Furthermore, I am truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Thank you for your recommendation on Junkanoo and we look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Not very comfortable rooms. Customer service took very long for ordering things like water. Our safe was not working and we had to wait for security and maintenance. Our bed was very uncomfortable and creaked like it was 100 yrs old.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Should you decide to return, please contact me directly and I will arrange all of the necessary details.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards.
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

One more time I want to share with you guys my experience with another Hilton location. This time it's located in Nassau, The Bahamas and it's very exciting talk about this place. First of all let's talk about the hotel. It's located about 30 minutes from the Lynden Pindling International Airport (MYNN) and the hotel is in the middle of the downtown. The lobby is exquisite and gorgeous the staff of the front desk is extremely helpful and kindly. After the check-in you will get surprised with your room and even more if you are a Hilton Honor guest where your floor would be from 5 to 7, but during 5 years of stay in this hotel I've passed by all floors and all are perfect. It doesn't matter if you come for business or vacation the hotel fits perfectly in your journey. After get some rest experience the Bullion bar and meet some bartender like Jermaine, Phill, Gerard and other guys (unfortunately English is not my mother language and then some names are hard to remember lol). The Aqua Restaurant will make you feel very glad, with international menu and local food where I really recommend the peas & rice, coleslaw salad, macarrone cheese and off course the desserts and now let's talk about the best of this journey, the relaxation. Yes we need it... If you're crazy like me try the pool around 3 in the morning and you'll have it just for you and during the day the beach located in the back of the hotel is a fantastic place to get some peace and read a book or simply listen to music, but it's not the end.... The executive lounge opens at 6 pm and you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Nassau Port and again it's time for appetizers and drinks as courtesy of the Hilton. If you need any assistance don't hesitate to contact Ms. Shanasco, the manager of the floor. After this get some rest and go back to Bullion bar and so on.....As you're located in downtown and if you're a gambler you can go to Atlantis Cassino and try to make some money or loose some, it's up to you lol, and don't leave the island without visiting Rose Island or Exuma, personally the most beautiful place that I've seen in my life and I'm so glad for this opportunity. Please let me give you one more tip in this paradise and you'll be thankful for this, but this is only addressed to couples lol. Take your beloved person to compass point and live an unforgettable dinner seeing the stars and the moon in a place where you could say to yourself, Is it really happening?. Well I end it up here but if you want further information about this place, the hotel and more tips don't hesitate to contact me at andre.aiafund@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Ask to the front desk the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided and will let Jermaine, Phil and Gerard know that they helped you have a great stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list