We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't want to go there...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Save Saved
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You don't want to go there...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel placed in downtown Nassau, it's not for you as an American tourist. Full of commerce, noisymicro buses, heavy traffic and smelly gas sewer from the bay.
Be prepared to arrive and the first shocking impression is the Hilton sign at the top of the building falling apart. The rooms and is old and the matress lossing the shape. ( even after stop by the front desk and requested to fix the matress, they didn't do it )
The hotel restaurant offering a regular basic buffet menu but at price of 5 star gourmet restaurant. That means $70 bucks for a nothing special meal.
The super small private beach is nice but we saw / learned that the whole bay is a huge drain sewer system for the cruises and the island, you don't want to swim there.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel to anyone in vacations plan. If you are traveling solo for business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments pertaining to your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies.

We regret that you were not satisfied with your accommodations and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to wow you. Should you decide to return, please contact me directly and I will arrange all of the necessary details.

Once again, thank you for your comments as they are crucial in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    591
    275
    153
    97
See reviews for
282
646
109
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The British Colonial Hilton looks lovely in its promo photos. What you don't see is that it is located in what can only be described as a bit of a rough zone in downtown Nassau. By day the streets are noisy and crowded with people from the cruise ships and lots and lots of noisy trucks. By night it's mainly shady fellows selling 'green or white'.

The hotel itself suffers from a wholesale replacement of all interior incandescent bulbs with ultra cool (as in cold) fluorescent lights. Think aquarium/refrigerator lighting. So not appropriate for a 'resort'. Really unappealing.

Service is shockingly slow and laid back. I really have no idea why it would take an hour for 2 poolside sandwiches... But it did. Most of the waiters and bartenders were surly and lacked training.

I doubt I would visit The Bahamas again, but if I did it would not be at The British Colonial Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Yul-Guy,

Thank you for staying with us here at The British Colonial Hilton Nassau and for taking the time to write your review.

We are located in the heart of Downtown Nassau; but have taken measures to have our property be an 'oasis' in the midst of the busy area. Our windows are paned for our guests privacy and for sound proofing. We do have close ties with the local law enforcement in order to address any concerns that may arise outside of our hotel. The hotel has made efforts to be environmentally friendly and have changed our lighting to softer fixtures and bulbs in order to be more sustainable. We are sorry that it is not to your liking.

We do encourage all of our team members to give service in a timely and efficent manner; I am very sorry that your service experience was not as it should have been and we will make efforts to improve in this regard at the poolside.

Thank you for your feedback!

With kind regards
Andrew Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful day spent at the BCH. Lovely property. Able to use the pool and private beach for the day. The lounge chairs had nice cushions (even the beach loungers) which made for a great nap! The food and bar staff were great. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet relaxful day. I would have rated this excellent if the pool was heated. Still....We had a GREAT day!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your day with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau

I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities including the pool with the comfortable day beds and cabanas.

Furthermore, I am truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you return again soon.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Never being to the Bahamas before, we didn't know what to expect. My husband and I decided to stay in Nassau (as opposed to staying on Paradise Island) because we thought we would find more to do in downtown Nassau (not necessarily the case...depends what you are looking for). Location-wise, the Hilton was very close to all the restaurants and shops (however if you intend to venture out in the evening, be warned, most restaurants close around 4:30). The hotel itself was nice (and cheaper than most places on Paradise Island). The beach wasn't exactly what we had in mind (nice view of the continuous supply of cruise ships and some construction cranes) although it was fairly quiet and we enjoyed being able to relax, there, after the sun went down. The pool area was nice, furniture quite comfortable. The lounge/bar area, in the hotel, was a good spot for a night cap (we spent most evenings there). This may seem like just an average review, however after spending one day on Paradise Island, my husband and I both agreed that we made the wiser choice, staying in Nassau (at the Hilton).

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, near the fitness center. It was suitable, just a short walk to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am extremely glad to learn that you were completely satisfied with your stay.

We are truly glad that we met your expectations thanks to our spacious and comfortable rooms, our private beach and pool.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us and we look forward to more opportunities to show you our hospitality!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Always stayed at Atlantis and went over to Nassau to shop or go to Senior Frogs, so this time I decided to stay on Nassau and visit Atlantis one evening. This was waayyy less expensive. This Hilton is in the best location for being able to walk to everything. I loved that their beach was private and nobody would bother you to buy something or braid your hair. There is a concrete wall built out into the water on both sides of the hotel's private beach. The water is totally calm all the time here. The many shades of turquoise water are unmatchable. I loved that the frig. in the room was empty so you could buy some of your own groceries and stock it (compared to Atlantis prestocked frig. with sodas, alcohol, and candy at 3x the U.S. price) Grocery store is a 5 min. walk and liquor store is across street. We started with a 2 queen bed room- not good- it overlooked 2 dirty roofs of nearby buildings and bathroom was small with a shower/bath combo, so we upgraded to a waterview room with a king bed and I'd definitely recommend that because the bathroom was twice the size with a tub at one end and a walk in shower at the other end with sink area in the middle. FYI- there are no rooms with balconies that you can sit out on- just a view. You can get 2 free hours of wireless Wifi in room. Otherwise, their business center only has 2 computers. The hotel was very clean and everyone was very accomodating and friendly. Watching the cruise ships come in, turn around and back into their spot was interesting to watch. Had lunch at the pool bar and grill every day- yummy grouper fingers and mahi mahi wrap. I loved it here.

Room Tip: Ask about the view ( you don't want to look at the dirty roofs) and if it's a bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you return again soon.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After Hurricane Sandy swept by the island, the hotel didn't suffer much damage - just some clean up of leaves, seaweed etc.
The property itself is older - so a lot of modern / sleek features are not present.
I checked in and was given an upgrade (HH member here) to a lovely room that overlooked the Beach.
The room was spacious, large fridge, great light/windows, comfortable bed. The bathroom piping was loud and made a lot of noise on and off during the day/night. The shower water smelled a bit weird, but the bathroom was a good space.
The food was a hit or miss - I had the burger which was good, but the pasta gave me diarrhea - too much oil.
The staff is exceptional! Very friendly and helpful and cater to your every need.
The location is idea for downtown, restaurants, shopping.
The beach/pool is really nice and lots of space to spread out and enjoy.
I would definitely recommend the hotel for it's location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. As far as the food, I would give other places a try.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities including the pool with the comfortable day beds and cabanas, as well as Harbor View room.

Furthermore, I am truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel met the expectations of a Hilton hotel except for a minor point. The room I was in was not very sound proof. You could hear outside noises at night. The entrance door was not a good fit as you could see light all around the door.
Barring this , the hotel was excellant, the staff were attentive, and it met all expectations for a Hilton. very nice room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanasco C, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you return again soon.

Best Regards,
Shanasco Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.