We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach | PO Box N-8306, Nassau 33312, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We purchased a package deal for flight and hotel through Priceline. ..don't do it. The minute we walked into the hotel lobby I could smell the moldy musty smell. We got to our toom and it was worse! We couldn't even put our clothes in the drawers it was that bad. After spending about 45 minutes in the room my throat was sore and my eyes itchy.
Thank God the Sheraton was right next door - we checked out of the Wyndham that same afternoon.
We later found out that the Wyndham is scheduled for demolition to make room for the new Baha Mar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review we apologize for every inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    484
    404
    275
    343
See reviews for
273
581
57
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of the better resorts on Cable beach. It has it's own mini water slide which does not compare to the waterpark/slides in Atlantis. There is plenty of marine life when snorkeling in the ocean but do be careful as there tends to be lion fishes in the waters. My friends and I were able to get a free update during our stay to ocean front. The service we received was accommodating but the only complaints that we have was the buffet and the casino tends to be subpar. There is much better food if you hail for a taxi and request for fish fries. This resort is great for the cost so that you can pass the night for a fraction of what atlantis would cost but don't expect to stay on this resort as there are much more to do in town and on paradise island.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front rooms, you just might get lucky and get a free update like I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review and are happy to learn that you found our service accommodating. We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I used to go to this hotel as a kid back when it was the Crystal Palace. That was in the early 1990's-mid 1990's. Well I don't think they have made any renovations since I last visted 20 years ago. I was actually disappointed in how run down the property is.

The food is horrible and the rooms are gross. The casino takes you back to 1989. The lobby is outdated. Our room was not ready until 5, but I would guess half of the property was unoccupied. The staff is rude.

The only silver lining is that this place is dirt cheap. The beach is okay, and the lagoon is very nice. But the pool is surrounded by blue carpeting that makes it look so cheap.

We had stayed at Atlantis the last 3 times, so it was difficult going from a hotel like that to the Wyndham.

I have been hearing the hotel was going to be demolished, but I guess only parts of it. When the Baha Mar opens in Dec 2014, I think renovations will begin on the Wyndham. I would not stay here until those renovations are complete. The property is going to remain in a distressed state until those renovations begin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please let me say that there are renovations going on that we are extremely excited about, all in an effort to enhance our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrotcay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall, we could manage staying here. It has good room, nice pool and clean bathroom. On the negative side, overall the hotel feels dark. When we first arrived, the room was not ready, we had to go back down to lobby from 11th floor to inform the FO and they moved us to another room on the same floor, 11th Floor. The lift smell odd and on our second day, the light was out for 1,5 hours. No courtesy from any hotel staffs to inform us what was happening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we apologize for every inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. The break in our power supply was due to the local power company having to make some repairs that were urgently needed. Once again we humbly apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My girlfriends and I were guests at the Wyndham Nassau Resort for six days
during the month of October and I found it imperative to take the time out
to provide some pleasurable feedback. Let me start by saying that we are a
group of ladies ranging in ages from 26-30 from New York City and although
we are no strangers to the lovely island of Nassau, Bahamas; I am extremely
pleased to say that this trip in particular, was by far the most enjoyable
experience we have had thus far.

As this was our first time staying at the Wyndham Nassau Resort, we were
somewhat skeptical about what to expect as a result of the mixed reviews on
TripAdvisor, however we were pleasantly surprised! We had an oceanview
room in the C Tower, which I would highly recommend because it provided us
with a gorgeous view of the sunrise/sunset and the beautiful ocean! The
rooms were spacious and fully equipped with the normal amenities and the
housekeeping staff (Stephen Douglas and Darnel Clarke) was always courteous
and extremely helpful.

We spent most of our time on the beach and at the outdoor bar, which was
probably the highlight of our trip. We absolutely loved the convenience of
not having to leave the beach to enjoy happy hour deals, frozen drinks and
tasty foods. We were extremely pleased with the exceptional level of
customer service exhibited by the outdoor staff (Levoi Major, Calvin Brown,
Calan Gibson and Patrick Rolle) on a daily basis, which further attracted
us to spend numerous hours on beach. They allowed us to place orders for
appetizers and have them delivered to us on the beach, which made it very
evident that management is very customer focused and willing to go above
and beyond to satisfy their customers. They were very knowledgeable on a
wide array of topics including excursions, native places to eat and tourist
attractions, which we found very helpful. We were slightly disappointed at
the fact that the slide in the pool was turned off during our entire stay,
but as a result of the great hospitality we experienced, we will definitely
visit the Wyndham Nassau Resort in the near future and have already started
to highly recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Thank you for providing a great atmosphere to enable us to relish in some
well needed rest and relaxation! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We appreciate you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review and more importantly to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be certain to acknowledge the employees that were mentioned and we look forward to having you and your friends return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've been going to the Wyndham in Nassau since it's heyday in the 80's, yes it's older now, shows some wear, but but but it's great...........we stay in C tower, facing the ocean, wonderful view of the beach and pool, rooms have tv, phone, balcony's , fridges, and wonderful housekeeping staff that meet your every need..........step on the elevator and when you step out 50 ft in front of you is the pool, the ocean, the beach, the snack bar with great food..........turn to your left out of the elevator and you're in the casino, Starbucks, lobby with free Wi-Fi..........The Angus Grill, their more upscale steak house, on the 2nd floor, is wonderful, both in presentation and quality..................you can catch a bus downtown or to the Fishfry for $1.25 each, or to any destination on Cable Beach or that part of Nassau, A big bonus for the future is it is right next door to the new development on Cable Beach, the BAHA MAR............The employees of the Wyndham, most of them have worked there for years, go our off their way to accommodate visitors............WE look forward every year for our "time in Paradise", and we always remember, we're in the Bahamas............because we Want to be..............so if you're looking for a great relaxing vacation, this is the place...............WE are older adults looking to enjoy our time with our friends and the wonderful food of the Bahamas

Room Tip: Get C tower, all rooms face beach..............Try the Seafood cocktail at the Angus Grill, outstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love having you visit with us and take a delight in exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here after our day of traveling to Nassau before we checked into Sandals Royal Bahamian the next day. We expected it to be a little nicer. The walls were VERY thin - we heard a baby crying from the next room as if it were in our own room. Restaurants were a little pricey for what you got. Overall was okay, but probably wouldn't have been happy to spend our whole trip there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamReply, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We appreciate your review and apologize for where we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach | PO Box N-8306, Nassau 33312, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Hotel Nassau
Wyndham Nassau Resort And Crystal Palace Casino
Nassau Wyndham
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.