We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waters and an overall good time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach | PO Box N-8306, Nassau 33312, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Nassau
Island Heights, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful waters and an overall good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed from 5/21 to 5/25, we booked last minute for a quickie getaway. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was friendly. Our corner suite had a beautiful view, we were in the H tower (H305). The room was spacious and clean, no mold, smells or any dirt to be found. The AC worked great and the room was always the perfect temp. The bed was comfortable and toiletries were great ( Bath and Body Works). The room was cleaned daily and we had turndown service each night, which was great! The beaches were ok ( could be cleaner ) and we snorkeled and relaxed. The pool was clean and the swim up bar was great.
We ate as Moso, which was fab, the Seaside buffet was good and had lunch at the Tiki Hut which was good as well. Don't eat at the buffet at the Sheraton, they were beyond rude and snobby and the food options were poor. Tip (15%) is already included, for every thing from drinks at the bar to dinner, so its easy, and I could charge anything to my room so I didn't have to carry cash. The casino was nice, lots of options. I don't like that you have to pay for drinks, but thats b/c I am used to Atlantic City. Their tables (craps) were expensive.
Overall the hotel decor and design is dated, but the location is awesome and for the price I paid ( CheapCaribbean) it couldn't be beat. The atriums leave some to be desired. I hope they update again before Bahamar officially opens. If your looking for a high class 5 star resort, go to somewhere else. If your looking for a good time, clean, affordable and friendly, this is your place. I would go back.

Room Tip: go for the corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    479
    401
    274
    341
See reviews for
271
575
57
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just got back from this horrible place. Don't waste your money on this total dump! Got out of the cab and was leery. Not impressive from the front, looked so tired! The lobby was nothing but depressing, hot/cold, not good air conditioning as the atrium cooks the place in the afternoon; worst lobby I have ever seen, looked like it hadn't been updated since the 80"s. Girl at front desk was a b____! Gave us day armbands, which we found out later was wrong, did not give the tower we requested (H), gave us M tower, said there were no more water view rooms, which had to be a lie since there is no way that hotel was full. Room had "city view" which is total garbage, I did not come all the way to bahamas to look at a street! No iron, no hairdryer, no fridge. Called operator, was told we were on wait list for hairdryer, really? I immediately called cheapcaribbean.com to get me out of there, was told they couldn't do it until next day, by then we had gotten used to the funkyness, it was going to cost too much to move. Never ate at the hotel, like I said it was derpressing. The windows were full of condensation, the balcony was scary, the hotel is located next to a Sheraton on one side, the other side is an empty hotel!. The beds WERE nice, the bathrooms clean, the pool area was nice with beach. Really, so not worth it, stay next door at the Sheraton or go to any hotel on Paradise Island. We spent most of our time at the Atlantis anyway, or downtown. This hotel is way too far out from the action (downtown, Atlantis), I would never stay there again or recommend it to ANYONE. The people of Nassau were very nice except for the front desk girl, although they are very forward in the marketplace. Across the street there is one small building to buy t-shirts, junk, and a truly dinky shack which makes great fresh dacquiris. That's it, the hotel shops are a joke, the workout room is 6 running machines ONLY, never saw casino. This is a large complex, several towers, but to me unless you have a water view it is not worth the trip to Nassau. This is what I get for booking the trip 2 weeks out, yes, I know better but believed everything cheapcaribbean told me, no, it is not close to Atlantis, no, it is not a nice place to even just sit. There was not one decent place to be in that complex except the pool area. Take the resort out of the name and you have a huge motel 6, with everything you are dreaming motel 6 is. PS, pool was too cold to swin in! Internet available on 9th floor.

Room Tip: Have no idea, don't go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had been there over a decade ago when it was the Marriott and it was fabulous. We were there years ago when Wyndham first took over and it was nice. We were there a few weeks ago and it was crap.
We booked this trip as a quick, cheap, short getaway and figured, how bad could it be for 5 days? When we checked in we were offered an oceanview upgrade for an extra $100+ and turned it down because we figured we would make do with the Island view we reserved...this after I asked a few employees before check in what the occupancy level was...30%-40%. We were put in the oldest tower on a third floor (first guest floor) on the tower directly overlooking a nasty rooftop with the obvious remnants of Spring Break destruction from previous years. Broken patio tables, liquor bottles, beer cans, towels, underwear, food wrappers, cushions, broken spot lights with the concrete chunks nearby that were obviously thrown at them...horrible. We saw or heard no one in any room nearby us or above us until our last and 5th day, but, when I stopped by the front desk the day we checked in to ask about another room I was told again we could upgrade for extra money. I could understand this if the place would have had high occupancy, but for the first two full days there we hardly saw anyone. Half the restaurants and some outlets were closed down so that you had to walk to their sister property, Sheraton, to find the desired food type. The beach and pool areas were kept up, but the whole interior of the hotel looked and reeked of spring break. Also, the nicer towers in the complex are now closed and are being marketed as "Vacation Ownership"...read... "Timeshare", and the Timeshare people are relentless.
I would never go back to anywhere on Nassau save the Atlantis or Sandals. Everything else has gone down the tubes.

Room Tip: Pay for it, otherwise, they could care less
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Heights, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

i must express the great experience i had at the wyndham resort. the staff was so kind and helpful-so much so that i was taken back. our room was on the 8th floor and had an amazing view, pool and beach were great. i found our hotel to be in a gem of a spot. you could easily take the bus (for $1.50) to the downtown shopping area and the airport was a 15 min ride. i would go back to the bahamas any day... the people were so kind and helpful- nothing i have experienced to this extend before. and the ocean water was breath-taking.

Room Tip: get an oceanview room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennLock1, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Nassau Resort and your kind remarks of our property. We strive for excellence and appreciate knowing we have met and exceeded your expectations

From all of us here at Wyndham we are honored to have served you and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Sections of the resort are scheduled to be torn down. So the owners haven't put any money into updating things. Decor and architecture looks like the resort was built in the 70's. Not much has been done to update things. We stayed in the "H-tower" and it was very nice. Rooms were very clean. The staff is excellent - very gracious and hospitable. One nice thing about staying in the Wyndham, is that it is owned by the same owner as the Sheriton next door. The Sheriton has been recently renovated and is beautiful. So, you can stay at the Wyndham a bit cheaper, but take advantage of all of the amenities of the Sheriton. Went to the dinner buffet at the Sheritan. Not cheap, but excellent. Nice decor in the dining room, and great staff. The Wyndham is on a nice spot on the beach. There is a barrier reef out a bit, which breaks the waves and helps create that beautiful blue/green water. Overall, not a bad place to stay for the price. A pretty good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennLock1, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Nassau Resort. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and enjoy our hospitality and ocean breeze.

We apologize that we didn’t meet all of your expectations, but welcome you back to our Island and indeed Wyndham Nassau Resort after completion of our property’s development project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We went there to get married. The staff was unbelievable and there for every little thing we needed. Our wedding was amazing, I couldn't of asked for anything different. We had 30 other people there, 18 of which stayed at the Wyndham with us, including an infant, we all had an amazing time. The food and drinks were great and I am a very picky eater. We got married there 3/2010 and went back to revisit for our 1st anniv. It was like being home, the staff is wonderful. They gave us a credit to the most unbelievable steak house. I can;t wait to go back for our 2nd anniversary. Thank you Shenika and the rest of the staff for making it so memorable.

Room Tip: suite, great views/comfy.reg rooms,comfy/roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennLock1, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments of Wyndham Nassau Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to have you visit us again and provide you and 30 other guests with exceptional customer service.

Again, many thanks and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We planned on taking another trip to the Cancun area since we have enjoyed it so much over the years. But due to some last minute changes in our plans, another destination had to be chosen. On other vacations (sailing and resorts) I had been to many of the Bahamian islands; but never the capital of Nassau. So we chose there. We quickly found a hotel online, booked it and we were off.
(SHOULD HAVE CHECKED TRIP ADVISOR MORE CLOSELY !!!!)

The hotel was nice enough. But the food prices were too high for the quality/value. The hotel breakfast buffet was $18.00*, a chicken sandwich at the pool bar was $16.00*, the evening buffet was $35.00* – don’t even ask about drink prices. No one could afford to get drunk here.

(*Yes, everything must be shipped to the island. But is ONLY about fifty miles to Miami. And the food is average; the value is non-existent. Nothing special, everything was typical and not what you would expect from a real resort.)

AND --- be warned; I bought two girls wine at the casino. The wine was served in small plastic cups (the kind you find next to the ice bucket in economy hotels) and were $12.50 per plastic cup.

The power went out throughout the entire hotel and the sister-Sheraton next door. This left us with no place to get lunch. When we asked Mr. Davis at the front desk if there would be any accommodations made to the guest he said, “No, you could go to the Sheraton, they might be able to help”. It seems like the hotel should have been able to do a little better than that. At the ‘Manager Party” I brought this up with Mr. Eustis the general manager. He said maybe they should have put up some signs, and would consider that for the future. He then walked off. We later learned the power outages were very common place and were not island-wide. Maybe no one ever made the suggestion before? Maybe the management doesn’t care about the comfort of the guests? You decide.

We especaially felt sorry for the family and friends who were there for ‘destination weddings’. They all were happy to celebrate a wedding, but they were all stunned by what it was costing them personally. No one said they would under ANY circumstances suggest this property to any of their friends or family.

There is a small area referred to as Fish Fry. (see my review of Fish Fry, Nassau)

Room Tip: FInd another property; one which gives you value y
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennLock1, Manager at Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the circumstances which contributed to your displeasure while visiting with us. The power outage at the property was an isolated problem and was much to our surprise. Regrettably, it was an outage to the entire community within the area. We truly value our guests and work hard to make certain an enjoyable experience. We can’t express how terribly sorry we are.

Again, our apologies, and we look forward to a second opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino

Also Known As:
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Hotel Nassau
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Hotel
Wyndham Nassau Resort And Crystal Palace Casino
Wyndham Nassau
Wyndham Nassau Resort
Wyndham Nassau Resort Crystal Palace
Nassau Wyndham
Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino Bahamas
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach | PO Box N-8306, Nassau 33312, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.