We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Should Pay YOU to Stay Here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Road, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
North Tonawanda NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“They Should Pay YOU to Stay Here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent one night in Nassau awaiting our departure after a wonderful week-long stay on Long Island.
First of all, it is a $35 cab ride from the airport. The taxi ride was probably the best part, as we had the pleasure of being driven by an excellent driver, Mr. Anthony Curtis. But, I digress. It got so much worse from here.
We knew we were in trouble when we saw the barbed-wire and guard dogs in the neighborhood. But, really, would a hotel that claims to be near a beach be that bad? This is a rhetorical question, of course.
Upon check-in, we were escorted to our room by a clerk who had the remote control in one hand and the button for the air conditioner in another. The room smelled like it had been heavily bleached to cover up who knew what.
There was a refrigerator which was not plugged in and we did not dare attempt to do so, as the wall socket was out of the wall and looked as though it was ready to blow. There were chunks of 'wall' missing in the bathroom. The fixtures were covered in lime. Of course, the sink drain did not work and the water smelled horrific. We wanted to open a window to get some fresh air, but, forget it, we could not open it.
So, we ventured to the office to ask for suggestions for food and to inquire about the water. Any water had to be purchased. This would have been fine if I had planned accordingly and maybe gotten some water on the way. Here, they have you and it is not easy to access water from anywhere else. it is not a safe area! The water could not even be used to brush one's teeth!
We ventured out for something to eat. It was about a half-mile walk to anywhere. But, again, one needs to be careful. This was a warning we received from everyone we encountered.
Although we had no issues, one needs to heed the road and traffic. Red lights? What red lights? They just blow right through them !
All the businesses are 'caged' or the check-out area surrounded by plexi-glass. Not a good sign.
We survived the night. I awoke to go for a run the next morning only to turn down a street with a sign that read 'Caution-High Crime Area' Stay away from the roads-way too dangerous, even on a Sunday morning.
So, the beach area ( approximately 600-800 meters away) is nothing to write home about. It smelled and there was no crystal clear Caribbean blue water here, either.
The rate included a continental breakfast. One enters a rec room and a table with some bread, cereal, and coffee. There was a jar of peanut butter, some marmalade, and a not-so-appetizing-looking bowl of butter-all with one communal knife. I did not dare sit anywhere- I was afraid of what may have been on the seats.
When I went back to take a shower, the cleaning staff was already in the room at 9:30 a.m. The towels hadn't been used, the bed was stripped, and we had not checked out yet. I found this odd. I certainly don't think a throng of visitors would be arriving there that day!
The only highlight was the pool. it was lovely and surrounded by a nice garden. The office staff did let us check out a little late, as our flight wasn't until 3:30 p.m. Again, Anthony Curtis came to our rescue.
I am sure this could be a nice place. It needs a lot of work. It was not worth the money and really ruined a perfectly good week on Long Island.
New Providence is not a 'get away from it all' destination anyway. Spend a little more money. It could mean your life!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    3
    4
    14
See reviews for
3
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

While the hotel is definitely one of the cheapest hotels in the surrounding area of Nassau, which is a good thing, the price is deeply reflected in the semi awful experience of staying there. Firstly the hotel is extremely far from anything worth doing or seeing. While Montague beach is beautiful and a mere 5 min walk it is empty and lacks any sort of ammenity (snack stand, bar, restaurant, bathroom) thus there is only so much time that can be spent there. The bus is seemingly easy to take, but only until 6pm which means as soon as you want to go to dinner you need a taxi. There are no restaurants closer than a 30 min walking distance, and even 30 mins by foot doesn's get you to Nassau. This means you have to take expensive taxis, who will rip you off by charging 25 dollars, in order to feed yourself. Turning to the hotel itself my room was absolutely awful. We had a dorm room, we were four girls. By the time the 4th girl had showered the shower (a bathtub) was overflowing and took the next 16 hours to drain. Quite vile. On top of this the toilet also overflowed (luckily after waste removal) upon every flush. Luckily we managed to request a change of room, after many complaints during 4 days, and were given a room where everything worked. While the staff is friendly and the rooms extremely cheap, the distance and shabbiness of the hotel do not make it worth the price. The amount we had to spend on taxis meant our stay was actually more expensive than had we stayed closer to Nassau. And seeing as the surrounding area of the hotel does not provide you with any benefits at all, there is no reason to stay here once the financial advantage is cancelled by taxi cost.

Room Tip: Don't book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were supposed to be here for 5 days but left after 1! It looks like it used to be nice but is now rundown and insect infested, i could smell pesticides in our room and saw things scuttling when we entered. our sheets had holes in the and a corner of the quilt was missing. the neighbor had 4 dogs and the would bark every time you went by!

Room Tip: book a room in another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I expected so much when I booked this hotel with that nice name but got absolutely disappointed. Ok, the location itself is nice since there are some small houses with own parking lots you can stay at. There's also a pool and an outdoors area with wifi. But thats it. The rooms are horrible, I had hundreds of ants directly next to my bed and within many of my clothing. The door was hard to open, there was no wifi, only near the office building. The hotel it pretty far away from nearly everything and the street that goes there is horrible. Service is ok, bathrooms are pretty bad. Try to find any other one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have to keep in my intellectual account ,the price paid for my peaceful days spent at Orchard garden Hotel in Bahamas !
Living in a small tropical forest nicely, familiar accueil by staff, easy life , home feeling, , wonderful Bahamas , enjoy your stay and life a petites prices !small swimming pool , Gazebo , sun deck chairs
recommended to single, couple and family .
Birds Sanctuary , tropical flowers smelling . walk distance to sea , walking distance to Paradise island ( 30 min.) enchanting sea and beaches, just walk price !

Room Tip: floor garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

"AVOID THIS HOTEL" We arrived late evening, had to rnng bell for service/checkin. Desk Clerk rude and acted as if we were a disturbance. OMG, the room. This hotel/motel was built in 1955, and the room reflects that. After a one-night stay, we checked out for a better hotel/location. THIS MOTEL IS CALLED CRACK-ALLEY, for a reason. Old, noisy, smelly and not convenient to ANYTHING oif interest. Recommend this site be removed from any hotel/motel site. Not conducive to a vacation stay. The advertisiting is VERY misleading. NEVER AGAIN in BATES MOTEL

Room Tip: No matter the location. You have to deal with neighborhood barking dogs. Loud window a/c and infest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of fleas!! Lots!! I brought back a few to my home and had to spend a whole day to clean my room. My skins are full of flea bites, and itchiness. I hate it! I have to put specal cream on to take care of my skins now. I don't want to leave scars. Having mosquitoes and bees outside was okay because you can only control it so much, but fleas???!!!! You can take care of it if you keep the room clean. Although the room was very spacy and people were nice, it was awful due to its dirtiness. It was quite far away from downtown too. You always have to get on a bus to go anywhere. Although it was 20/30 minutes ride and $1.50 or $2.50 per ride or so, it was a little bit inconvenient. All the bus stops around 6 or 7pm, so only the way to come back to the hotel late night is by cab. Most of the entertainments is downtown, so you may want to find a hotel downtown if you don't want to take a bus to get anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: Village Road, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.