We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mignon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nassau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mignon Guest House
Save
You added Mignon Guest House to your Saves list
12 Market Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Nassau B&B and Inns
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for some days while visiting Nassau. It was conveniently located in town, close to most of the attractions. Good security. The room was spacious, clean and had cable TV. The room was cleaned on a aily basis. The bathrooms were okay, though they were shared with the other rooms. We had access to a shared coffee maker, a kitchenette and a fridge in the hallway. The owners were kind, and great to talk to. Their English wasn't the best, but communication was never a problem. They were helpful in planning your day, they always asked how we were, and they were always available for a chat.

Perfect for solo travellers, backpackers and those not looking to splurge at one of the many hotels in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was only staying in Nassau for a couple of days before leaving on a dive live-aboard and Mignon provided me with clean and simple accommodation at a decent price. The owners were very nice and the location of MIgnon is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stayed 9 nights in this guesthouse, had a great time!
guesthouse had everything we needed.central location, clean rooms with free wifi, flat screen tv.the owners are amazing!they are 86 and 89 years old!felt like staying with friends.Maria made us cookies and cake.best guesthouse we stayed in ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We discovered the Mignon some 18 years ago and have been staying there for a week every winter since. Before we discovered the Mignon, we had to limit our stays to 2 or 3 days. Maria and Steve Antonas have always made us feel at home. We have always felt safe there. The guests at the Mignon come from all over the globe. As a result Maria speaks half a dozen languages. We have met some very interesting fellow guests there over the years. At the Mignon you have every convenience one could ask for. A communal microwave, refrigerator and free bottled water are very much appreciated. A grocery store is just a short walk away. There is free wi-fi in the rooms as well as A/C & fans. Maria runs a tight ship. No smoking in the rooms, but she has allowed me smoke my Cuban cigars in the hallway. The guesthouse is spic and span. Way past clean. You can bounce a quarter on the bed sheets. All night party animals need not apply. There is a public beach a hundred yards to the left of the nearby British Colonial Hotel. The location is central to all attractions in Nassau. Only a hundred steps to E. Bay St., (the main street) and you are in the center of town. Since this little jewel has been discovered, it’s best to call for reservations as soon as you have travel plans.
Bill & Christina Filyaw
Charleston, SC

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms & they are all about the same. Two communal bathrooms in the hall (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have stayed at Mignon many times while in Nassau. Mary is always kind and helpful, the rooms are very bright and clean, and the climate control and tv's are really good. It is close to the bus routes and downtown. There's also a fridge, microwave, utensils, dishes, and pure water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a little gem right in the heart of Nassau (sadly Nassau isn't a place worth spending much time in). Location is amazing, close to all restaurants and not too far from the bridge to Paradise Island. Straw Market is just up the block. Maria, the owner, is a really sweet woman and a real firecracker with such a great sense of humor. She's a real gem. Her husband is a bit of a tyrant though, always shouting for some reason or another. Rooms are a little dark and dungeon-like but good for sleeping in, with flat-screen TVs (and quite a few channels). Bathrooms are shared, one for men, one for women, but I never found them occupied.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The front photo of the exterior of this great place initially put me off but, due to favorable reviews, I decided to try Mignon anyway and am very glad I did. The unusually designed facade sits side by side among quaint Caribbean architecture and is just behind a Cathedral, so do not be put off by looks. I have been to Nassau once before and stayed in a resort hotel at a much greater price. Whatever your reason to visit Nassau, the savings by staying at the very simple and unpretentious Mignon over staying at a resort hotel are so significant, you can take cabs to wherever you feel you are missing out on and you will still save money. There are banks all around with international ATM cash machines. If you are a boring resort only type person who needs a beach and a bar with in a few feet of each other just so you do not lose weight, you do not deserve to stay at Mignon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mignon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mignon Guest House

Address: 12 Market Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners: Steve & Mary Antonas. Mignon Guest House is just a two minute walk from the main shopping area on Bay Street in the heart of downtown Nassau. The six rooms are simply furnished with twin or queen beds (the triple has one of each), a desk, a night table and lamp. Each is equipped with an individual slim line AC Unit, clothing hang rail with hangers, Cable TV & FREE wireless internet access. Bathrooms are shared, one for men, one for women and are in the hallway close to the rooms. Each has a large shower, a sink unit and a separate toilet. The common area is equipped with a microwave oven, tea kettle, plates & utensils, a large shared refrigerator and free bottled water. A covered porch has a small dining table & chairs for guest use. The owners live in a small apartment on the premises and are available for assistance with directions or advise. The manager speaks English, Greek, & French. The front of the building is secured with two wrought iron gates, one which is kept locked at all times and the other is locked during night time hours for extra security. Access to the property is a stairway leading from the street to the first floor. Room Rates are: Single or Double: $60 + 10% Government Tax ($66.00 Per night) Triple: $70 + 10% Government Tax ($77.00 Per night) We accept reservations for a minimum of 3 days (not for 1-2 days). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mignon Guest House Hotel Nassau
Mignon Guest House Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mignon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.