We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis in Nassau.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat Garden National Park

The Retreat Garden National Park
Village Rd, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-393-1317
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 62 Attractions in Nassau
Type: National Parks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Over 175 different species of palm trees flourish at this 11 acre nature reserve, headquarters to the Bahamas National Trust.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in Nassau.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff are so helpful. the gardens are lovely, lush and full of exotic plants. If you are a birder, there are many birds to spy with your binoculars. Also, check while visiting if there is a talk being presented on some very interesting topics, that are more often than not free. First Saturdays of every month is a farmer's market and also local made handicrafts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“hidden beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

a lot of persons don't know or hear about this great place, it is perfect for a wedding, photo shoot, a party, very remote and beautiful, the flowers are so pretty, it is beauty in it's finest

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Home of the largest palm collection in the Bahamas, and one of the largest collections in the world. Beautiful property, they have numerous events thoughout the year including the Wine and Art Festival, Jollification, Da Market, and much more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A bit confusing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was excited to see this tropical garden with its palms collection.
We made it there via public bus. Easy. Ask the bus drivers what bus to take. $1.25 for a one way trip.
I paid for our entrances: $2 per person. I recieved a map for the self guided tour.
Alas, my husband and I had difficulty with the self guided tour. It was confusing for us.
The area was beautiful regardless. There are picnic areas and this is a place you can take children. Or, seniors. No inclines or declines.
Support the Bahamas Natl Trust.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not as bad as Ardastra Gardens, but not worth visiting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I decided to visit The Retreat after reading a guidebook description of it as "a beautiful escape from Nassau's heat".

Although the palm trees were beautiful, the park was very overgrown, and had not been maintained. Worst of all, there was a VERY dead animal (it looked like a raccoon, but I did not get close enough to check!) near The Retreat's visitors' center, on one of the park's lawns.

The Retreat is not the biggest tourist trap in Nassau - that dubious distinction belongs to the dreadful Ardastra Gardens, on the west side of town. However, I would not recommend visiting it, even if you are driving right by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Retreat Garden National Park also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to The Retreat Garden National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat Garden National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.