We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Piece of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Top of Elizabeth Avenue, off Shirley Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Improve this listing
Visit Queen's Staircase like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Nassau Historical City Tour
Ranked #13 of 114 things to do in Nassau
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I like learning a little about the history and cultures of the places I visit, so I found the Queens Staircase of interest. Yes, the marble is bricked over, but the walk up to that staircase with the towering limestone walls and huge banyan trees along the avenue is worth a few minutes. It was a clean area, just lacked a little in maintenance which is common in the islands. Climbed the stairs up to Fort Fincastle and then back down again when we were done with the fort. It was kind of nice to think we were walking where the young Queen Elizabeth walked many years ago.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    274
    145
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great attraction, surprised it was here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

These stairs in the middle of the city. Very cool! Once you get to the top of the stairs go right and head to the military fort. A bit more of an uphill walk but not much. Our whole family did it including Grandma's and Grandpa. The fort has big cannons and a great view of the city.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Queen staircase interseting and a small workout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did this as a group as part of our free wedding gift from Breezes (island tour). Those that took the walk down the stairs enjoyed. Thanks Crystal we had a ball.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

For the life of me, I could never understand why this is such an attraction. It is 65 steps cut into the limestone as an escape route by slave labor. That's the whole story. There is nothing else to see other than the steps. You could climb them and go back down. There are other attractions like the forts that are more worthwhile.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting Site to See if Walking Around City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let's be honest, Nassau does not have the most thrilling attractions. If you are thinking of doing a walking tour of the city (google for Frommer's walking tour and map) then the Queen's staircase is worth seeing on the tour. It's an average site at best, but not worth going out of your way to see if you have other things you would rather do.

When you reach the top of the steps you can continue onward to see Fort Fincastle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Staircase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.