We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Inspiring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Top of Elizabeth Avenue, off Shirley Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-427-9878
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Nassau Historical City Tour
Ranked #14 of 120 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Really Inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Love the history behind the building of the staircase. All done by hands...sad part it was done with slaves. Definetly worth the trip to view the beauty. Waterfall was included later to represent freedom from the British Empire per a local interpreter on the history. Approximately 216 steps...very tranquil place and not far from main attractions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    293
    155
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah Ga
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nassau, The Bahamas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took a taxi trip all over the Bahamas it was great ,this was really good there was a bar across the street that serve the coolest beer in town really great

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
746 reviews 746 reviews
462 attraction reviews
795 helpful votes 795 helpful votes
“Historical site worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We walked from the pier to fort following the historical route map provided by the tourist information office ! The most interesting site is the Queen' s Staircase and the shade it provided was a welcome bonus on a hot and sunny afternoon !
It is a mix of historical landmark and garden and used as a path to the fort area by locals !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Try to avoid all of the vendors and panhandlers. This is definately worth the detour. Getting to the Queen's Staircase is a bit sketch. I suggest taking a taxi. Once you are there, it is a beautiful little gem in Nassau. Pretty waterfall, garden and wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get Good Directions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are taking this venture on your own, get good directions! Or- do what we wish we would have done- find a tour group to go with. We got 'directions' from our hotel concierge who made it seem like no big deal to venture out on our own (husband & I). Took the jitney, started walking (knowing which roads to take) and after not too long we found ourselves outside of the tourist filled streets and felt like we were walking around with targets on our backs. There were places with no sidewalks & we were walking in the streets! It was right around the noon hour so it should have been perfectly fine to go during that time of day, however, we took the route that led us past the Police Headquarters- you would think this would make us feel safer- but it did not. We found ourselves being pointed down a residential street being only led by a sign. This street was filled with alley's and was not, shall we say, the nicest of streets. It gave us such a bad feeling that we turned around and immediately got back to the main streets as quickly as possible! I am sad to say we did not make it, our attempt was foiled by bad directions. It sounds like if we had gone way of the hospital it would have been fine. This is no place to be walking around by yourself unless you are absolutely confident in what you are doing. Be careful, next time we come back, we won't make the same mistake as I am still determined to see this, we just waited until our last day of this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Staircase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.