We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar

Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar
Trinity Place | Downtown opp.The Central Bank of the Bahamas, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Bahamian Kitchen)
+1 242-328-0334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 216 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bahamian Cookin Restaurant & Bar is Nassau's oldest Bahamian Restaurant,specializing in authentic Bahamian Cuisine.Owned and operated by 3 generations of Bahamian women, this local establishment has been providing Bahamians and tourists with flavorful Bahamian Cuisine for over 29 years.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Try the perfectly seasoned, delicately steamed chicken and the crispy conch fritters with a nicely spicy dipping sauce. Wonderful family dining with super friendly service. We enjoyed meeting Cookie and Cinnamon. This was one of the most memorable parts of our Tru Bahamian Food Tour. I'm so glad we were introduced to this little gem of a restaurant, hidden away on a quiet side street. We will be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    43
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nassau Dec2013/Jan2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

the meals were generous in size, we took home leftovers! The jerked chicken was great and my Husband loved the ribs!b Cute little back-alley location!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great family owned and operated resturant. Junkanoo decorations were really cool. Conch fritters and baked mac and cheese were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barefoot Bay, FL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fair food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Perhaps I was expecting more but the food was only fair at best. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean, as were the restrooms. I would hesitantly recommend it, but don't try the fried conch here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Part of a food tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This restaurant was part of a food tour but the conch fritters and Bahamian version of mac & cheese was yummy. Looked like a good place for local flavor

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.