We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-run, service oriented and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Cafe & Bar

Athena Cafe & Bar
Bay & Charlotte Street, Down Town, Nassau, Nassau P.O.Box N-3669, New Providence Island
+1 242-326-1296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 216 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Greek, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Bay Street, Athena cafe offers the authentic greek cuisine with a Bahamian flare. Not only you can find the traditional greek favorites here but also Bahamian delicacies such as conch, snapper, grouper and lobster! We are a true, family operated business that want everyone to feel like family as soon as they enter. Have a choice to sit at our cosy bar, our air conditioned dining room or the lively verandah.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family-run, service oriented and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I went on the Saturday after the 4th of July when there were many cruise liners docked in town so the restaurant was packed but the wait staff was friendly and professional, and the food FAN-tastic!

I'll definitely go back the next time I'm in Nassau.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    133
    32
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Greek food may not be your first thought to Bohemian cooking, but this place was great. Luckily, we were staying on the island several days and had the time to try local Bohamian food at some other restaurants.
We came to Athena on a walking food tour, and enjoyed it so much we came back on our own for lunch. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend their gyro, one of the best I've had. The taziki and meat had excellent flavor. The greek salad was also delicious. I haven't been to many other greek restaurants in the States that compare.
The prices are moderate to expensive. However, most restaurants in the bahamas are pricey because they have to export almost all of their food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Ohio
1 review
“Calamari 2 Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Ive ordered fried calamari at five star restuarants, that ive had to send back because its over cooked and rubbery ...Ive yet to have any that compares to the calamari that i ate from this place. Salad and bread is ok.. service strange.. maybe shady, but the fried calamari is the best i ever tasted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Athena Cafe is a great choice to have lunch in Nassau, the food is very tasteful and waiters really kind, the salad and pita bread are fantastic. The restaurant is in the main street and you can spend time in the balcony looking the movimentation or talking to the owner who is very kind too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

the owners like to make alot of noice to get you to come in but once you are inside they ask you to try things that you didnt ask for and charge you at the end of the meal. greek food isnt exactly gourmet so why woil a salad for 3 cost $45.00??????

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Athena Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.