We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half day snorkel trip - excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Cloud

Flying Cloud
Paradise Island West Dock, New Providence Island
242-393-1957
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Intimate day-cruise ship, perfect for snorkeling expeditions and quiet contemplation of the beautiful ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Half day snorkel trip - excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took a half-day snorkel trip in August with the family on the Flying Cloud catamaran . Couldn't have had a better time. Easily booked the reservations from our hotel a day before. We met the boat at the Paradise Island Ferry dock (just a few minutes walk from where we staying at Atlantis). The catamaran was spacious and clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. I actually made a bone-headed mistake and forgot my credit card, and they very considerately worked it out so we could pay on our return and wouldn't miss the trip. We motored out of the harbor but the captain soon dropped the sails and invited everyone to lounge out the cargo netting that stretched between the catamaran's three hulls. Incredibly relaxing to hang out with no motor noise, just the breeze above and the water sliding by below. Our destination, Rose Island, was a small but pretty island of scrub trees and sand. A few people who didn't want to snorkel were dropped ashore to explore, and then the boat moved a couple hundred yards offshore to provide easy access to the reef. The Flying Cloud provided all the necessary gear and the mate provide tips for any first time snorkelers. The snorkeling was quite good, with lots of local fish to watch. On the return trip, we relaxed on the nets again and enjoyed some of the complimentary snacks and beverages that were included in the cost. Everyone had a great time and this is an excursion we can happily recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sunset cruise for the entire wedding party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son and daughter in law were married in the Bahamas over Memorial Day. The night before the wedding, we hosted the Flying Cloud Catamaran for the entire wedding party (37 people). I booked the catamaran about 6 months before the wedding. Not only did we have a stunning sunset and memorable full-moonrise but we also saw a rocket launch from Cape Canaveral. They had a bus to take us roundtrip from our hotel to the marina. We enjoyed light appetizers and a few drinks as part of the deal. The service by the captain and crew was top notch!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Snorkel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had been on the Flying Cloud years ago and were excited to see that they are still around. We did the Sunday 5 1/2-hour snorkel trip, which included the lunch and beach stop.

Marlene, Kai and the entire crew were fantastic. There was lots of food and drink and it was all delicious.

The small crowd (max 50 people) makes this excursion even more enjoyable We would highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorable trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The Flying Cloud half-day trip to snorkel by Rose Island was fantastic. The crew was friendly, the boat was clean, and the the voyage was relaxing yet exciting at the same time. Comparing the price to other sail-aways, this is the best value! I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little excursion, at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Took the Sunday day sail for $80, four of us. They supply you with lunch and drinks, which were pretty good! The island wasn't anything exciting, which is what we went for :) A great way to "get away from it all" and RELAX. The snorkeling was so-so, hard to find a spot that is really calm, so lot's of bobbing. But, I took a $200 a head boat ride to the Exumas and saw pretty much the exact same things.

The beach on the island is like any other Bahama beach, beautiful. Great place to swim and relax. My best advice: buy and bring a hammock with you, wherever you go!

I thought the crew was good. They served us with a friendly attitude, and the guy that did that safety presentation was amusing. If you want an amusing tour, take the water taxi.

I would recommend this to anyone. Don't book in advance, make sure you have good weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Cloud also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Flying Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Cloud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flying Cloud to your Saves list