We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Flipper for the ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Close Encounter

Dolphin Close Encounter
| Nassau, New Providence Island
242-363-1003
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet some of the ocean's friendliest residents: they're loveable, if not a little pushy, so why not meet them through this program?
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Thank you Flipper for the ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Well worth the money.

My fiancé and I had the experience of a lifetime.

We meet the dolphin that was in the 1995 Flipper movie.
We did the swim with the dolphin experience.

You will get to dance with them, they will give you a kiss, give them a hug and of course they will push you through the water - what a rush.

Very safe and a amazing experience.

Spend the money and go

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Not only dolphins, also a nice island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We thought that you will go to the island, meet the dolphins and than going back. But it is an island with a nice beach, a water park (not included in the price), restaurant and so on. The boat is leaving on different times, so you can choose when you will go back. We arrived there at 9.00, met the dolphins and then went to the beach. We took the boat at 2.00 pm but there is also a boat at 1.00 pm, 11.00 am, 4.00 pm and I am not sure, there is also one after 4.00 pm. It is cheaper than at the Atlantis and you even have a short boat trip, kind of a "sight seeing trip" where you can see the villas at the beach.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Definitely a bucket list item”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Yes it was expensive (about$185/person) and yes the pictures are over-priced (single pic was about $20, pkgs were from $60 to $120). They do let you bring your own camera. Got that out of your system now? Time to have a blast. We did the "swim" instead of the "encounter" because we figured if you're gonna do this, go all the way. I'm glad we did. If you're staying at Atlantis, a ferry picks you up and takes you to Blue Lagoon Island (about 25 min). After a brief video and talk from the trainer you put on a life vest along with about 7 other people and jump into the lagoon with the dolphins. They are swimming under and around you while the trainers are still on the dock...very exciting. Our trainer was knowledgable and entertaining. Each person gets to pet, dance with, hug, feed and eventually kiss the dolphin. We were in the water with them for plenty of time to enjoy it all...probably about 45 min. The last thing is the push where you float in the water on one end of the lagoon and 2 dolphins come up behind you and put their noses on the bottom of your feet and push you about 12 miles an hour across the lagoon while your arms are spread out like you're flying...very cool. When you're done with that, they have a great beach to enjoy with lounge chairs and a few water toys and tubes. For additional $ there's a bar/grill and a bounce-house park both on land and in the water. We're gonna try the sea lion encounter next time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big Fun for my teen girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We thought that this would be a quick in and out but they actually got to spend a good bit of time with the dolphins. In the water with them and the very cool "skiing" with the dolphins.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kissed a dolphin :)!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Loved the dolphin encounter! Especially cool that we kissed a dolphin, danced with the dolphin, fed it and the coolest part was the dolphin PUSH. Two dolphins swim up behind you and push you through the water 100feet or so. LOVED it and would highly recommend as a once in a lifetime event.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Close Encounter also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
New Providence Island, Bahamas
 
New Providence Island, Bahamas
New Providence Island, Bahamas
 

Been to Dolphin Close Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Close Encounter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.