We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
along the Lind Point Trail | Virgin Islands National Park, Caneel Bay, St. John
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
charlotte
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our first trip to St. John and the Virgin Islands. Out of all the beaches we visited (Trunk, Solomon, Cinnamon, and Salt Pond) it is safe to say this was our favorite. The employees of EcoTours went above and beyond in order to make our time on Honeymoon beach memorable. From those we meet who work in the office (Christina) to those who work the hut/guide the tours (Patrick, Johnson, Jake, and Josh) every aspect of our three days spent on Honeymoon beach was well worth it.
Jake ran an amazing tour (Extreme Kayak, Hike, and Snorkel) guiding us through a full day of snorkeling at two remote beaches, kayaking, and hiking Mary's trail on the resort of Caneel Bay. We learned the art of Caribbean spider fishing, tasted various fruits he pulled from trees, and enjoyed breathtaking views from lookout points along the trail. This was a full-day (5 hour) tour but worth every minute!
Our other two days spent at Honeymoon beach were incredibly relaxing thanks to Patrick Johnson, and Josh who went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. We had the option of renting snorkel gear, chairs, floats, kayaks, and paddle boards. Our kids are 20, 19, 16, and 13 and with so many options there was something to satisfy each one of them.
Even though there were multiple families needing assistance Christina, Patrick, Jake, Johnson, and Josh took the time to get to know our family on more than just a surface level. We truly enjoyed our time spent at Honeymoon beach getting to know the amazing employees of EcoTours.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    67
    20
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Chatham, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, water- good snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Easy walk from the parking lot - small, quiet beach except for the intermittent snorkeling expeditions that stopped there- the snorkeling is nice at the far end - nice outcroppings of coral - easy to find a relaxing spot to sit- for us it was the picture perfect beach

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Coral is not as healthy as it was a few years ago and the beach is overcrowded with boat tourists. Apparently there are more boats on Tuesdays and Wednesdays so other days might be better.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous. Personal favorite beach on island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My favorite beach on the island by far (out of those we visited, Trunk, Cinnamon, Maho, Hawksnest). We hiked from town and arrived around 11 AM to a mostly deserted beach, we had rented chairs/kayaks/snorkel gear for the day but we probably only needed the snorkel gear, the rest wasn't worth it. The snorkeling was awesome, I saw turtles, tons of fish, gorgeous coral and fans, HUGE sea urchins and a handful or rays. The water was so incredibly clear I could hardly believe it (first trip to the Caribbean for me!) I like that the hike makes the beach a little less crowded and since it's the furthest for the folks at Caneel it was basically empty the whole time we were there. We walked up to Caneel for lunch, overpriced but it was actually really good so I can't complain much.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is our second trip to St John and what we do is hike to Salomon Beach first [our favorite beach on St John] and then hike over to Honeymoon Beach right next door. Honeymoon gets crowded with the charter snorkeling boats early afternoon. But as soon as the boats leave, it is a great spot to snorkel. We have gotten lucky and spotten several turtles there both times. Also a small nurse shark right on the rocks close to shore.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.