We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, water- good snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
along the Lind Point Trail | Virgin Islands National Park, Caneel Bay, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Caneel Bay
Type: Beaches, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
East Chatham, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, water- good snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Easy walk from the parking lot - small, quiet beach except for the intermittent snorkeling expeditions that stopped there- the snorkeling is nice at the far end - nice outcroppings of coral - easy to find a relaxing spot to sit- for us it was the picture perfect beach

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    49
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Coral is not as healthy as it was a few years ago and the beach is overcrowded with boat tourists. Apparently there are more boats on Tuesdays and Wednesdays so other days might be better.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous. Personal favorite beach on island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My favorite beach on the island by far (out of those we visited, Trunk, Cinnamon, Maho, Hawksnest). We hiked from town and arrived around 11 AM to a mostly deserted beach, we had rented chairs/kayaks/snorkel gear for the day but we probably only needed the snorkel gear, the rest wasn't worth it. The snorkeling was awesome, I saw turtles, tons of fish, gorgeous coral and fans, HUGE sea urchins and a handful or rays. The water was so incredibly clear I could hardly believe it (first trip to the Caribbean for me!) I like that the hike makes the beach a little less crowded and since it's the furthest for the folks at Caneel it was basically empty the whole time we were there. We walked up to Caneel for lunch, overpriced but it was actually really good so I can't complain much.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is our second trip to St John and what we do is hike to Salomon Beach first [our favorite beach on St John] and then hike over to Honeymoon Beach right next door. Honeymoon gets crowded with the charter snorkeling boats early afternoon. But as soon as the boats leave, it is a great spot to snorkel. We have gotten lucky and spotten several turtles there both times. Also a small nurse shark right on the rocks close to shore.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gorgeous Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Not crowded and absolutely stunning! This is one of the best beaches we visited on the island. You have to walk a little ways to get there, but it's plenty worth it and it seems to keep the crowds away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.