We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
along the Lind Point Trail | Virgin Islands National Park, Caneel Bay, St. John
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Attractions in Caneel Bay
Type: Beaches, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Count yourself lucky to ever land on this public beach. The views, the shade (!) and the swimming are excellent.
The ocean floor is rocky, wear surf socks or river sandals.
Watch the boats, snorkel (not the best spot when it is windy) and just relax here in a spot you will never forget.
Free! Walk would be hard for some disabled persons.
Clean basic bathrooms nearby. Tiny concession stand, runs eco-tours and rents chairsl

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    47
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & i just loved this beach. You get to it via a short hike through the national park trail. It was not crowded and the views of teh other islands was spectacular. There are trees you can sit under for shade (no umbrella needed.) It also had good waves and a restroom facility.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, great snorkeling, choose route carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

One of the two top beaches for us on the island- and that is saying something given the beauty of this island. Wonderful views and exquisite water. The small reefs at the far left end are gorgeous, filled with fish and easily accessible for anyone.

IGNORE the travel books, park at Caneel Bay, walk the wonderfully flat gravel road 1/4 miles and arrive at your destination refreshed instead of tired and sweaty. Stop for a Passion Fruit Daquiri and sushi (the best you will EVER taste anywhere) at the Caneel Bay Bar on the way out and your day will be complete and parking free. You can walk the Lower trail with only modest effort but the upper trail is a real challenge and absolutely requires sneakers or boots due to rocks and slopes (gorgeous overlook though). You can park at the National Park Service Building at the other end of the trail.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular Beach on St. John Worth the Effort to get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I couldn't find an excursion we liked for our day in port at St. Thomas recently, so we planned to get a taxi to the Red Hook Ferry---more reliable than the one in Charlotte Amalie----and spend the day on Honeymoon Beach on St. John. You can set your watch by the Red Hook Ferry and we arrived at Cruz Bay, St. John after about a 20 minute ride. The little village at Cruz Bay is quaint and nice, and we later had lunch there on the water as we waited for the return ferry at 3:00.
I had seen some reviews on Honeymoon Beach and decided to walk there on the trail that begins a short way to the left of the ferry dock. It turned out to be a fairly rigorous walk on a rocky trail with a considerable climb over the ridge and back down to the beach. Once there, we enjoyed the spectacular waters and beautiful coral beach at Honeymoon Beach. Snorkeling was available fairly close to the beach and there is a small bathroom, changing facility that sells some limited drinks and snacks along with chair and beach equipment rentals.
The water off of Honeymoon Beach is probably the most beautiful we have ever seen-----including anywhere else in the Caribbean or even Hawaii. So, after a relaxing few hours on the beach, we opted to get a taxi back to Cruz Bay from the Caneel Bay Resort a short walk down the beach from where we were----only $5 per person.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Loud, Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This beach is beautiful but when we hiked over from Caneel, it was very crowded. The crowd was mixed but there were several obnoxious visitors making tons of noise. We wouldnt return because the beaches at Caneel Bay are better but it might be a good place to go if you are staying somewhere else or just visiting St John for the day. Soloman was the same way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.