We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scott Beach is beautiful and crystal blue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott Beach

Scott Beach
Caneel Bay 00831, St. John
340.776.6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Caneel Bay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on St. John's north shore, this is one of Caneel Bay's seven secluded beaches.
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Scott Beach is beautiful and crystal blue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Adult only, so it is quiet. (Unless the nearby grounds are being maintained w/ weedeaters!) Lounge chairs are provided. A small bar is close by. Great for snorkeling. I saw 3 sea turtles and a sting ray!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Threw us out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Do not go to Caneel Beach. Taxi driver told us it was the best beach. As we drove in, security told us we could go to all the beaches, but not the main beach. We were then told near the main beach that we could go to Scott Beach and Paridise Beach. He said that it was adult only. Fine, we were two adults. Set up on Scott Beach. We were then thrown out by security. He told us we could only go to the main beach. We were so mad we went back to the Westin. By the way went to Mohu Beach first. There was no beach. The water went up to the road. $50.00 in Taxi fare before we finally went home to the Westin. Just go to Trunk Beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best Beach on ST JOHN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here twice at Caneel and find it to be the most beautiful beach on the island. Its so quiet and peaceful because its limited to adult guests who are staying at the resort. THere is beach service here but its slow and spotty. The sand is soft and the water is clear. There is excellent snorkelling on the side near Turtle Bay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
278 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“No services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a pretty beach but you have to bring everything with you. Toilets are far away and no drinking water

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best of Seven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed all the beaches at Caneel Bay Resort but Scott Beach was our favorite. Plenty of chairs, no other traffic but other beachgoers. The width of the smooth sandy section and gradual dropoff made for great swimming. The snorkeling is especially good on the north end. I was a beginner and most of the bay is well shielded from the prevailing wind and current. I had no trouble getting to see things while avoiding challenging swim situations. Terrific shallow water ledge with wide variety of fauna: Saw triggerfish, several species and stages of parrotfish, a moray eel!, squid, needlefish, yellow jack, blue tang, damselfish, and more. Over the sand in the middle I saw a good number of rays. The young guys manning the bar were helpful and lively. It was a short walk over just one easy hill from our unit on Cottage point. The sand was fine and white.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott Beach also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Scott Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.