We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caneel Bay Resort to your Saves list
Caneel Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plantation, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I know I may be preaching the the choir. We were a couple traveling alone desiring peace and quiet. Our magnificent stay began with Diedre in the reservations area. She was so patient and kind each time I called and was a great listener. Her attention to detail set the stage for a wonderful stay. We were on Hawksnest beach, where there are many turtles and abundant sea life. The tennis staff was wonderful in setting up a game for me. Concierge set up a private boat trip - no hitches. Ellis of the grounds crew was gentle and kind. He has been there 18 years making people like us happy! Hikes around the property are great. We suggest breakfast at the turtle bay restaurant. The resort may want to assist with electronic device detox, especially for arriving guests. While at breakfast our last day, the guest nearby received e-mail after e-mail with sound notification. She apologized, and said that she didn't know how to turn the beep off. REALLY? I realize she will get it by the end of her stay- maybe you all want to offer a electronic detox program (I'm serious). ZOZOs is the best food in Caribbean.

Room Tip: Hawksnest is far from the center of activity. So, if you have children desiring a lot of activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    38
    25
    21
    7
See reviews for
66
161
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stay here 4 nights in June 2010...I liked it, BUT the rooms need a make over URG, considarating we paid $600. p/n. the rooms and service are average not as I expected for the price. The staff lacks of genuine warmth and food it's very pricy.

The beach it's beatiful, clear blue water, it's a good place if you are looking to relax. If you have money to burn this is the right place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved this resort and will return again. Snorkeling was excellent- sea turtles and rays on Hawksnest, reefs to the right side (looking toward the water) of Caneel, Scott and Turtle Beaches. We loved the rafts on Scott beach. Grassy areas were well-maintained (donkey droppings removed throughout the day). Check-in was a breeze- they met us off the ferry. We had a centrally located room- 49 - which has a partial sea view on the 2nd floor but a perfect location for walking everywhere. The bathroom was better than expected and the water was hot. WiFi access was fair although I could not download books very well. There were always plenty of hotel workers around our building. When we arrived, our fire alarm battery needed changing and a light didn't work. They fixed both within 15 minutes. There was always fresh ice in the room, and they would fill our cooler (provided by resort) if we left it out. My biggest complaint about the rooms is that the walls are thin and AC a bit loud. However, we still rarely heard our neighbors.

ZoZo's books out, and should be reserved before your stay. Food in the grill was varied enough to keep us interested. Ask for a table on the top level- worth the wait! The Turtle Bay restaurant menu needs some reinvigorating though.

We are in our upper 30's, definitely on the younger end here. Many guests have been coming for 20-40 years. Therefore the social scene was slanted toward the retiree set. The younger couples who we did meet were friendly but kept to themselves. The rooms and service were the reasons for only 4 stars. Service is on average very good, although not as expected for the price point as it often lacks genuine warmth. Also, some staff rotate through all restaurants and are not always familiar with the menu and wine offerings at each. However, there were still many wonderful staff members, including a manager who arranged a shorter ferry ride back to St. Thomas because my husband tends to get seasick. In all, a relaxing stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here 4 years ago and it was fine. I expected no phone, no TV, and no late night food or room service. But my stay last month was ridiculous!!! No wonder Rosewood left... The rooms needs a complete makeover - actually - a wrecking ball would help! The floor was dirty, the water pressure non existent, - little hot water at times, and the internet did not work!!! Hey - if you pay $150 a night - oh well than fine - but $600-$900 a night and have a 60's bungalow with dirty floors, burnt grass, overinflated prices - and no real amenities?? And some are paying $1200 a night - really??? Let alone trying to get a fine hotel and resort amenity from American Express? I think Amex will be dropping this resort soon - its a joke! Do yourself a favor - and rent a villa - or look online for a Westin Villa - which are beautiful. I stayed there twice before, but thought I would would treat myself to Caneel - well it was a downgrade!! This place has gone downhill - and FAST!! It's a $200 a night resort. Don't stay here until The Ritz, Four Seasons or Starwood buys this place and does a $200 million dollar upgrade. If you have money to burn and like camping (like the Maho or Cinamon Campgrounds) - then stay here - bring good slippers, foot wash, a water heater, and a hotspot to help you through the night. It's Westin Villas for me - luxury, uber clean, amenities, excellent staff, easy taxis, and just the same access to all of St John beaches. Why pay for a disinterested, unprofessional and dirty resort? Good luck staying here if you take the plunge - you are missing out on the best of so many of St John's wonderful villas - or the much better resort: Westin Resort "Villas"- (not the hotel)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AvidTravelerExpert,
Please know we take great pride in the housekeeping services we provide our guests, so your comments leave me rather regretful, that your experience was lacking in any way, and that we went unaware of your overall displeasure while you were with us. Please know we are currently awaiting approval on our overall renovation project, a project which has already begun the first stages with two completed showrooms. While we await the final signatures on our renovation project, we continue to maintain and update all areas on our property, including a fiber optic back bone, currently being installed property wide, so that we may offer our guest the very best complimentary WiFi available on our island. I thank you for your candid comments, as they are very important to us as we continue to strive to enhance each and every experience we provide our guests. I do hope you stop by once again during a future trip to the Westin Villas on St John.
Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Caneel Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would return to this resort in a heartbeat. We had a completely relaxing vacation with activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, tennis. The setting is incomparable, private cove beaches with the rooms/cottages set back into the trees. There was snorkeling just a few feet from our room--including the typical reef fish, as well as different kinds of rays and sea turtles. At night, the property is dark and they sky is a bowl of stars. You also see the twinkling lights of Red Hook (on St. Thomas) in the distance, as well as the gently bobbing mast lights from sail boats moored in the bay. The room was comfortable, decor was tropical mid-century. The sushi at the grill was very good, as was breakfast. Service at the grill was a bit slow, but I think this was an issue in the kitchen since I saw wait staff waiting by the kitchen for the orders. We did not eat at Zozo's which we hear is really delicious and well run (didn't feel like eating Italian while in the Carribbean). If you love a big pool or lively party action, this is not the place for you. We did not even go to the pool (which is away from the ocean behind the tennis courts).

Room Tip: We were in an ocean view room not too far from the breakfast terrace and it was absolutely quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a couples massage cabana for our final day and were refused service, only offering massages at the main spa. The "spa" is literally a table in the Tennis pro shop with two rooms adjacent to the courts. If you find erratic children playing tennis to be a soothing soundtrack to your massage by all means indulge. I found the service to be eminently disappointing and discourteous. The rest of the grounds are bland golf course grass, definitely not anything like a sustainably minded resort founded by a renowned conservationist. The beaches are ok but inferior to the beauty of nearby Jumbie or Trunk. Book a nice villa for less and have the freedom to really enjoy St John and not live in a luxury seaside prison.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear cvaldaisnotbig,
As discussed at the time of your request for massage services, our massage center, located at our tennis courts, is the only available area for non guests who wish to experience a massage with our massage team. Our Seaside Sabanas overlooking Hawksnest Beach are reserved strictly for our guests staying with us. I do hope you visit us again one day in the future when you are once again visiting the island of St John.
Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently returned from a week stay at Caneel Bay in St John, USVI. Been there many times before over the past 2 decades. Sad to say it has slipped alot. Maybe it is the new ownership, or just fatigue, but the service and quality has declined significantly. It seemed to us that:
1) the food offerings have been downgraded...less choices, narrower offerings, but same or higher prices,
2) the employees have a very indifferent unhappy attitude, which was disappointing. It used to be friendlier. We heard employee comments about reduction of benefits, etc. One employee on the beach staff hassled us about the use of our chairs! Another employee asked for a payoff when i asked for a ride to my room on the other side of the property! Yikes!
3) nothing has ever been renovated or replaced for years. The beach chairs are still the same old uncomfortable ones, the room furniture is so old, the old tile floors need to be re-treated, the whole place could use a paint job.
4) they seem to be doing more marketing for events, and there were 2 weddings while we were there which disrupted some of the other services. Most of their services are executed at a B- level at best, so when stressed by a wedding, it really declines that day.
5) there were some large groups of families all there together (from the south) and their group of kids (10-15 of them) couldn't seem to figure out what to do with themselves, so they annoyed the heck out of the other guests by running and yelling all day on the beach, digging sink holes at the bottom of the stairs, trying to surf-cast fishing from the beach where people were swimming, feeding the donkeys and thereby inadvertently drawing the animals onto the beach. If the parents are too stupid or lazy to watch their kids, then the resort's employees should step in and provide some rules or order for the benefit of the rest of the guests.

Some good news:
1) ZoZo's restaurant on property is excellent
2) The ice cream and coffee shop is a nice addition

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear NY-traveller100,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you have shared regarding your most recent stay. Please know we have not changed ownership, nor have we had any changes in management or staff, other than the natural turnover experienced in any location. It is unfortunate that you feel we have downgraded our restaurant offerings, as we have in fact added a world class sushi bar, ZoZo’s at the SugarMill and Cannella Gelateria, all of which have been receiving excellent feedback from our loyal guests including yourself, as well as those visiting while staying in the Virgin Islands. I would like to once again send you my apologies, and I do hope to welcome you back once again in the future.
Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caneel Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.