We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Spa” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caneel Bay Resort to your Saves list
Caneel Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Spa”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a couples massage cabana for our final day and were refused service, only offering massages at the main spa. The "spa" is literally a table in the Tennis pro shop with two rooms adjacent to the courts. If you find erratic children playing tennis to be a soothing soundtrack to your massage by all means indulge. I found the service to be eminently disappointing and discourteous. The rest of the grounds are bland golf course grass, definitely not anything like a sustainably minded resort founded by a renowned conservationist. The beaches are ok but inferior to the beauty of nearby Jumbie or Trunk. Book a nice villa for less and have the freedom to really enjoy St John and not live in a luxury seaside prison.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    37
    25
    20
    7
See reviews for
66
156
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently returned from a week stay at Caneel Bay in St John, USVI. Been there many times before over the past 2 decades. Sad to say it has slipped alot. Maybe it is the new ownership, or just fatigue, but the service and quality has declined significantly. It seemed to us that:
1) the food offerings have been downgraded...less choices, narrower offerings, but same or higher prices,
2) the employees have a very indifferent unhappy attitude, which was disappointing. It used to be friendlier. We heard employee comments about reduction of benefits, etc. One employee on the beach staff hassled us about the use of our chairs! Another employee asked for a payoff when i asked for a ride to my room on the other side of the property! Yikes!
3) nothing has ever been renovated or replaced for years. The beach chairs are still the same old uncomfortable ones, the room furniture is so old, the old tile floors need to be re-treated, the whole place could use a paint job.
4) they seem to be doing more marketing for events, and there were 2 weddings while we were there which disrupted some of the other services. Most of their services are executed at a B- level at best, so when stressed by a wedding, it really declines that day.
5) there were some large groups of families all there together (from the south) and their group of kids (10-15 of them) couldn't seem to figure out what to do with themselves, so they annoyed the heck out of the other guests by running and yelling all day on the beach, digging sink holes at the bottom of the stairs, trying to surf-cast fishing from the beach where people were swimming, feeding the donkeys and thereby inadvertently drawing the animals onto the beach. If the parents are too stupid or lazy to watch their kids, then the resort's employees should step in and provide some rules or order for the benefit of the rest of the guests.

Some good news:
1) ZoZo's restaurant on property is excellent
2) The ice cream and coffee shop is a nice addition

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Caneel Bay is located on such a beautiful location. They have 7 amazing beaches. All of them are private except Honeymoon Beach which is a 10 minute walk and super crowded. Scott Beach is definitely the best beach. Turtles and stingrays are visible for snorkeling. Snorkeling supplies are provided for no charge. The rooms are really old and you should definitely book a room on Scott's beach. Donkeys and wild deer roam the property which is very nice. It is overall an amazing place to come for a vacation and relax. The only thing that was horrible were the bugs and the service. I probably have at least 40 bites all over my body and it is very itchy. The service was absolutely horrific as well. I suggest going to ZoZo's every night for dinner to avoid the terrible service and to go to the Turtle Bay Estate House for breakfast and lunch. If you don't mind waiting an hour, you can order lunch on the beach on Scott's or Turtle Bay. The service over by the main beach (Caneel) is horrible so STAY AWAY. Overall, it was a beautiful location, but I wouldn't go back. There are many more places to visit in the world with amazing service! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on Scott Beach are the best. Turtle Bay often has wedding receptions, so don't book a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from 5 nights at Caneel in mid-March. I booked this trip mostly based on TripAdvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. The grounds are pretty incredible. Huge, old trees and wild donkeys and some deer on 170 lush green acres with 7 amazing private beaches (turquoise water, white sand). While the property is large it's very walkable. You can walk between beaches in 5 minutes or so. Equally as impressive as the beach and grounds was the staff. They were very nice and accommodating and all seemed happy to have us. Zozo's is on sight and is worth the high but reasonable price tag. Make your reservations well in advance. The other restaurants on site were more casual but also very good. I also enjoyed that Caneel didn't try to gouge me during the stay. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and other water gear is all included, as are beach chairs, towels, etc.. Wifi is free which is nice. Caneel was designed to be slow paced and as such has not TV's in rooms (though there are TV's at the bar for March Madness watchers), no phones, no radios. The rooms were adequate and it was nice that they provided a cooler for taking drinks to the beach. Make sure to take a taxi into Cruz Bay to check out other dining options (5 minute drive). Overall it's a resort like no other and definitely a good choice if you want a slow-paced relaxing vacation. Booking tip - ocean front is literally 30 feet from the ocean which is amazing. However, even from the garden rooms you're just 3-5 minutes walk from the beach

Room Tip: Choose Scott beach if you book ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family just love visiting Caneel Bay Resort in St. John. It is a luxury resort that feels like a secluded camp site. With its own private beaches and restaurants, you really don't have to go anywhere if you don't want to. It is also easy to get to St. Thomas for some serious shopping if that is more your style. The snorkeling is amazing at its various beaches and we find ourselves swimming with different sea creatures on a daily basis. I also enjoyed early morning tennis with my daughter. The Tennis Club house can provide you with tennis racket and balls so really al you have to do is show up with sneakers. There are numerous hiking trails and a nice little pool, for those of you who rather not bake on the beach too much. If you are addicted to TV, you may have a slight problem since there is no TV or Telephone in the room. The whole place turns dark at night. We are heading back again soon...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got home from a wonderful weekend in St. John,usvi ,we attended our friends wedding & everything was wonderful from the ceremony to the hotel & friendly staff.there are 7 great beaches on property each a bit different.drinks can be a bit pricey but delicious.we also recommend ZoZo's restaurant on property,just book in advance

Room Tip: There is a shuttle around resort, plenty of hiking too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent four nights at Caneel Bay and it was our best resort stay ever. We love the natural beauty, stunning beaches and snorkling. The staff was attentive and friendly. Our Turtle Bay room was clean with a gorgeous view of the beach. Afternoon tea is a nice touch. Enjoyed the stand up paddleboard and sunfish sailboat, included in the price of the room. Breakfast buffet was consistently outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caneel Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.