We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caneel Bay Resort to your Saves list
Caneel Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockford, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serenity Plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from 7 night vacation at Caneel Bay. Overall, the experience was tremendous. The extensive grounds and location on several beaches provides for an incredibly relaxing and serene experience. All restaurants were top notch with ample opportunities for local fish. Only disappointments were check-in and check-out. This was a return trip to Caneel and we knew we wanted a beachfront room near the middle point of Scott Beach and reserved our unit over 1 year prior to arrival and called several times during the year. Unfortunately, upon arrival we were told they could not honor our request and we were placed at far end of beach in front of rocks. Upon departure we needed an additional 15-30 minutes to shower and pack and were told by the Manager that he could not honor our request. I expected a greater effort than they provided on both.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    34
    22
    17
    7
See reviews for
62
148
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very hard review to write, because the location and beaches were perfect, while the facilities and service were only OK. I will definitely go back again to Saint Johns, but probably not to Caneel Bay. The property is expansive, with some of the most beautiful beaches (e.g., Caneel Bay, Scotts Beach, Hawks Nest Beach, Turtle Bay) you will find anywhere in the world, and nice hiking trails. The beaches have shade from mangrove trees, perfect white sand, beach chairs and serenity. We snorkeled each one, and each is a delight - with coral, tropical fish, stingray, turtles, etc. The views of St. Thomas and the other nearby islands, including from the hiking trails on the property, are spectacular. The feral donkeys and deer ad a nice touch. The resort is also a good place for tennis. There were probably close to 400 guests when were there, but the property is so large it is not crowded except the restaurant ZoZos, which needs reservations in advance. The other restaurants were good, but everything is expensive. The breakfast, both the food and the locations, are wonderful. We enjoyed the afternoon tea at the Turtle Bay Estate House. However, there are probably more staff then guests on the property. No cars on the property, but a constant noisy stream service vehicles. The rooms are old and small (especially the bathroom), no screens and lots of mosquitos, and when you are in the room there is constant interruption from the service staff. When we requested that our sheets and towels not be washed every day, for environmental reasons, they could not handle it! Given the high cost of staying here, one expects better service...

Room Tip: Rooms near Scott's Beach or Hawks Nest Beach or Turtle Beach are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Like a Spielberg scene, not quite real, too perfect. The lighting provided by nature. Clear bright sun's reflection on the water as one soul backstrokes a final lap to the beach. Orange boat pulling away quietly taking staff home for the night as the sky turns pink then cobalt blue ....but still a few last seconds of sparkle on the sea as the sun begins to set before dusk performs seductive foreplay to another evening at Caneel Bay.

Whether watching from an early table at ZoZo's, or the cocktail deck or a west facing room's balcony or your beach chair it's still magic.

Turtle Bay at teatime is magic on a good day. Lying on your back with or without a personal float off Scott or, if calm, Hawksnest or Turtle beach is magic. Hawksnest in the morning sun is magic.

I thought just "mature" would appreciate the magic of Caneel but was pleased to note some appreciative younger folk this trip "getting it". Some, of course don't, and possibly never will. They should go elsewhere. Yes some of the rooms are better than others but most are more than fine.

New room director Brian Coughlin is very helpful as are excellent concierge Christina and Gloria if there is an issue or just a request. I shake my head when I read comments to the contrary.

Food expensive? A little, but it's good and the service is usually good and your a five minute five dollar cab ride from "downtown" if your restaurant restless. Share a special food request with food and beverage man Matt Mooney. With a little notice I'm sure he would try hard to help.

My message is just politely speak up if your not happy. Caneel is designed for the body and soul to relax. For most, it works. I look forward to my next treatment.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent 7 days at Caneel Bay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The setting is exquisite on a peninsula on St. John's. The resort has 7 of its own beaches and provides water sports equipment such as masks and fins for snorkeling, kayaks, etc. There are shuttles going around the property constantly so you can get to any of the beaches or other venues within a few minutes. The food is also quite good especially the breakfast which is an impressive buffet. After eating breakfast, we often could skip lunch or just have a snack on one of the beaches. Diner at Turtle Bay was quite good and ZoZo's was excellent. The Caneel Beach Bar and Grill was fine for lunch, but not great for dinner. Our room was large and the bathroom quite adequate, but not luxurious. The personnel were uniformly helpful as well as very courteous and friendly. The transportation provided by the resort to and from the St. Thomas Airport directly to Caneel Bay is very convenient and definitely worth the additional charge. We are already looking forward to our next visit to Caneel Bay next year.

Room Tip: The few rooms near the dock on Caneel Bay Beach can be noisy starting at 7AM with the arrival of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from eight days at Caneel. We have traveled extensively at some of the best five stars in the Caribbean, Mexico, and the US. This is a five star location in need of room upgrades and staff training (no excuse for anything but Ritz/Four Seasons attentiveness, respect, engaging, type attitudes, which at times ...not all, but at times was not there. This comes from management down, so there is the challenge). Guests should never hear staff berating other staff or complaining about their work situation...inappropriate!.

Hopefully votes in congress will allow new lease extensions that permit banks to provide the capital to invest in the facilities (rooms/baths) and provide the staff training that is in line with a five star rating.

The tennis program and staff (Don,Eric,David) were outstanding. Great drills, round robin doubles,playable courts, great attitudes, cannot say enough about our tennis experience!!

Food...loved ZoZos; nice meal at Turtle; ate at the bar multiple times with great Sushi and attention from Luke, Jackie, and Michael..... some attitudes from the rest. Walked into Cruz on the trail twice...good food and view at Waterfront Bistro; many good little spots for a bite and drink.

Did the sunset sail (six people)...nice; rented a jeep for the day and covered the island; multiple trail hikes...Caneel to Margret Hill and Caneel Hill and Lind cut off.... steep, rocky, challenge when wet, but great workout. Massages at the cabanas were great; used the fitness center daily (had what we needed and not utilized very much); did all the free water sports (kayaks,standup paddle boards; floating matts; sailboat; snorkel ); my wife ran everyday on campus and I brought my fold up bike to "chase" her...little issue with security at first, but then accepted I knew what I was doing and we were guests. Sat on all the beaches...like Scott the best...would likely stay there on our return (yes we will go back).

A shout out to Javier who kept us supplied and iced. Front desk and concierge needs to go to "Four Seasons School" (try smile people).. Most of the housekeeping staff were pleasant and attentive with a smile. Grounds crew and shuttles all a wave and a smile...thank you.

So do go as the location is stunning.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I found a package deal for this resort. It was a discount of allure package. This is the most helpful, friendly, service oriented hotel I have ever been to. I had no desire to leave at any time. The activities were excellent, the food superb, service was top notch. I would love to make this an annual visit!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tennis lovers should definitely seek out Caneel Bay as a resort of choice. Pro Donald was wonderful- responsive prior to arrival, great on the court. 4-6 mixer was wonderful fun and attended by both locals and guests. Very amiable and fun tennis crowd.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caneel Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.