We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act--that' a Fact!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Caneel Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Class Act--that' a Fact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very family/kid friendly; lots to do--good grub and affable! Great views, pools, fab ocean-front. Their local fish was sumptuous--and we'll be back.
What more can I say................,...................,...,.,..!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    24
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
46
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amityville, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently got back from Caneel Bay Resort (just before they went on hiatus for the Fall) and it was wonderful. Five beaches in walking distance, with velvet sand. Some beaches didn't have a sole in sight, we were alone in paradise, with the exception of the drinks brought to us by the bartender. Snorkle gear and floats were available. People there always had smiles, impeccable service, food was great. 5 star meal at ZoZo's, the privately owned restaurant built on architectural ruins within the grounds. Rooms were what I call retro caribbean, cool and quite comfortable, bed was just the right firmness and comfort and we slept great. Make sure to have the St. John's Sunset (Cruzan Coconut Rum with splash of orange, apple, and cranberry juice...Yum!). Wild life was everywhere in the nature park setting and they seemed as happy as we were. We are already planning our trip back for next year. If you want to relax and regroup away from the rat race, this is the place dreams are made of. Thanks to all at Caneel Bay for making our Birthdays and Anniversary a trip to always remember.

Room Tip: Any room would be great since the beaches are so close. Although we had an ocean view, it was not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The nature is stunning: great beaches, fantastic nature and good snorkeling. The property has fantastic tennis courts (more than 15), new and well organized, with a great pro who offers daily clinics and lessons. Except Zozo's, the Italian restaurant, which is in excellent conditions, with very nice view, the rest of the resort is obsolescent; the rooms and bathrooms are small, old and the closet are minimal. All of us (4 families), have experienced problems with the bathroom pipes; we had water all over the bathroom more than once. One day it was raining and we had water in our closet. The Beach grill is small, with no view and when it rains, the roof leaks.
The resort is dated back to the 60s, there is plenty of space, it could be easy to replace the current small rooms with wider and more confortable rooms, as well as building a nice beach grill with view on the beach,. It the property would undertake a substantial renovation, the resort could be ranked among one of the most beautiful resort in the Careibbian, but now it can not be ranked as a 5 star hotel, and is absolutly not at the standard for a Leading Hotel of the World.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to thoroughly relax in a casually luxurious setting- with considerate classy amenities, nice people, delicious quiet, and an absolutely gorgeous one-of-a-kind amazing natural setting- this is the place to go, and we have been all over. Ask for Judith to do your massage. If you want gold fixtures in the bathroom, hot nightlife or conventional service, go elsewhere - at Caneel Bay the staff work to support you in pristine beauty and peace. This place has earned every penny of our luxury vacation dollar for more than a decade.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view near a beach (there are 7). Intermittently you may be the only one you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful sea. Wild animals. magnificent location.
All spoilt by the lack of service the lack of customer care and the gasoline golf cars.

Induction
Nobody explains anything about the island when you arrive. There is no welcome.

Food
The two restaurants :the Italian one "zozo" had nothing of Italian with the exception of the name of the dishes". the grill restaurant service was so slow that could take one hour only to eat a salad.
The breakfast bar is overloaded with flies and there is not plastic container where to store fruits or cheese. Gross!!

Great ice cream store!

Beaches
3 days before the resort was closing the staff removed the chairs from the beaches... They really wanted us to go...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Clara B

Please accept my personal apologies for the disappointment you have shared on Tripadvisor. I am truly surprised that you felt there was no welcome; as typically our guests enjoy our delicious rum punch on board our ferry, are then greeted with cool towels on the dock by one of our agents who then provide our guests with all the information they need to get settled in. I am truly sorry your welcome was not in keeping with our standard welcome to our property.

Please know for the past 3 years, we have been adding electric golf carts to our fleet, as we replace our older vehicles. We do hope to have a mostly electric fleet as we progress in the future, and we continuously strive to allocate and test more efficient vehicles that can take the constant circumvention of our property, while maintaining the power needed to properly service our guests without the frequent interruption for charging.

I would also like apologize for your disappointments with our dining. We are very proud to share our property with ZoZo’s at the SugarMill; the feedback we have received from our guests and visitors alike has been extremely positive in nature.

Also, please note, on August 22 nd we experienced a tropical storm, our chairs were relocated away from the shorelines, and returned once the storm and seas had calmed and would again be safe for use.

I do once again apologize for any misunderstanding this caused to you, and that I was not made aware of your disappointments while you were still with us. If you would like to speak further regarding your stay, please do contact me at our executive office at 340.776.6111.

Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned on Saturday from a wonderful week at Caneel Bay. We visited for the first time last year, with a plan of a few days at Caneel Bay and then a few days in St. Thomas. While at Caneel Bay that first time we immediately fell in love and extended our stay by a day while on site. This year we booked a full week at Caneel Bay.

We were originally attracted to Caneel Bay because of the descriptions of the beautiful beaches and grounds, and the location on St. John. My wife is an all-day beach person, while I'm normally content with a couple of hours a day on the beach. The location in St. John would allow her to stay at the beach all day, while I go off and hike and enjoy other activities on the island.

Turns out I barely ever left the grounds, either this year or last. This property is one of a kind. The green grass and white sand against the turquoise waters are exhilarating. It's on a peninsula so most days we could choose if we wanted to be on a beach with a breeze, or take the :90 second walk across the peninsula to be on the still beach. Snorkeling right off the beach is spectacular. I was never in the water for more than about two minutes before seeing a turtle, with many more to follow. The reefs on the side of each beach were always full of a great variety and quantity of fish.

The breakfast is wonderful, the sushi was great, and meals at Zozo's were all fantastic. The prices, to be honest, weren't much different from big city prices. I've paid far more for food that was not as good at lesser hotels. A couple of short trips into Cruz bay provided a wide variety of other options, from upscale to street food. All good, all keying on fresh ingredients.

I sailed on a sunfish (thanks to the water sports people for the refresher course!), we kayaked, and stand-up paddled. These activities are so convenient, and always available without a wait. It doesn't take hours to participate in an activity. Walk over to the main beach, paddle out on a kayak, and come back when you're ready. The relaxed atmosphere, the convenience, and the fact that this is all included, makes this hotel more of value than you might think. I hear the organized excursions are wonderful but frankly, we didn't find them necessary. There's plenty to do right there at your fingertips.

We found the staff wonderful. Everyone said hello and had a friendly smile. It was a low-key approach that my wife and I both appreciate. If, as part of your vacation, you expect to be fawned over and glad-handled, perhaps this isn't the right place for you - and there's nothing wrong with that - it's just a matter of personal preference. The staff here is friendly, but maintains a self-respect...if that makes any sense. It's just the way we like it; we're uncomfortable at hotels where the staff is all over us, "yes sir, no sir, right away sir." The few times we had a request (most things you need you'll find you already have), they were courteous and quick.

The rooms are comfortable and solid. Depending on your usual travel experiences, you may not consider them the height of luxury, but it's more about what you see when you look out your window. Comfortable beds, stone floors, quality tile and marble in bathrooms, solid furniture, and most importantly, big, wide windows.

This is a place where you can breathe and relax, and do as much or as little as you want.

I don't have any actual complaints, but with all of this gushing, I feel I should mention one thing. Caneel Bay does have an undying love of the internal combustion engine. We were never actually bothered by it, but it's something we noticed. It's a big property and they have to get around with supplies, I was thinking that they could gradually acquire more electric carts and phase out the gas-powered carts. Those of you who golf know the noise difference at golf courses that have electric cars as compared to gas. There are lots of gas carts driving around. You can't hear them on the beach, and we were never awakened by them, but you can hear them in your room.

Room Tip: We've stayed at Turtle Bay and Hawksnest. Both beautiful beaches. Two levels, we've stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is probably the one place I'd like to return to in the world. Visited 1st in 1981 and the place was paradise on earth. Prices have of course gone up, and modern conveniences may not be up to par with other resorts, but the natural beauty is the reason to go. Hope to return soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caneel Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.