We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downstairs studios are a bit loud but resort is beautiful; cafe is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concordia Eco-Studios

Save Saved
You added Concordia Eco-Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Concordia Eco-Studios
16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel amenities
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Downstairs studios are a bit loud but resort is beautiful; cafe is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in an eco-studio that was clean and spacious. The main drawback is that you can really hear the upstairs guests when they walk around, and our upstairs neighbors seemed to walk around A LOT early in the morning and late at night. I suggest asking for a room on the upper level. I think it would be quieter, and the view would be a bit nicer. A23 seemed like it might have the best view.

I don't like A/C so didn't miss it, though the studio didn't really get a strong breeze that it seems people get in the tents. We used the overhead fan, and a box fan that was in the room for sleeping, but it was still a bit stuffy so some people who like A/C may have found it too warm.

Finally, my boyfriend wished there were curtains on the sliding glass door, as the morning sun starts to come in around 5:30 am. I personally liked waking up to the sun and ocean view, but if you have trouble sleeping when it gets light this may be an issue.

I also agree with those who say you need a car. I'm a huge fan of walking and public transit, but realized that didn't really work at Concordia if you want to go off the property. The bus does not run on weekends, and during the week runs only every 2 or 3 hours. Taxis are very hard to get - even with 24 hours notice we were not able to book taxis for short trips.

Concordia is really beautiful, and the cafe food is outstanding, so we were OK staying on the grounds for several days, at Salt Pond Bay in the day. But we were not able to explore anything else in the area.

I definitely recommend snorkeling at Salt Pond Bay - we went 3 days in a row, and some days were better than others, but we saw lots of turtles, rays, a moral eel, giant squid, a HUGE lobster, flounder, barracuda, tarpon, and so much more. The left side of the Bay is the best, and the rocks in the middle are good too.

I also recommend the very short walk from the Bay to Drunk Bay for a beautiful site. You can't swim - too rough and rocky - but its beautiful.

The studio kitchens are well-stocked so you could easily cook meals there if you have a way to get groceries. The store on the grounds is good for snacks and drinks but not a full grocery.

The place is very well-run and organized. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. You can rent snorkel equipment, coolers, beach chairs at the store.

I would definitely like to come back though will request an upper level room and rent a car so I can see more of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio on the top level for a better view and less noise from upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,Il
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stay at the Concordia eco-tents a number of times and always LOVE it. Our favorite is one of the premium eco tents. Located right on the point, you have such lovely breezes it can actually get cold at night. There is room for 6 people to stay with a loft and an attached bathroom. Most units come with your very own cat, mongoose and hermit crabs. It has an indoor "kitchen with a 2 burner cooktop and a "fridge". The really stunning thing is the view. You are just over Salt Pond Bay and the Rams head trail. They have a pool and onsite restaurant. Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: they do not guarantee room reservations of exact units but you can specify premium, tent, studio etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent a week here recently. LOVED the resort location and the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped us with hiking plans and setup a snorkel/kayak trip for us. The overall experience was wonderful. The things that could be improved on: cleanliness of the room and kitchen supplies. The floors really needed a good cleaning and the upstairs bathroom could have been cleaner. The place we stayed could have held up to 6 people. The kitchen had 3 small spoons, a very small coffee pot that made 4 cups of coffee, there were no measuring cups or spoons, two small pans for cooking and nothing that could be used for baking in the oven.
Overall we absolutely loved our stay. We would recommend it to anyone who is OK with walking up and down many, many stairs on a daily basis. We plan to visit again as soon as possible and maybe apply for the summer work program someday.
Side note: travel books say Salt Pond Bay one of the best places to snorkel and hang out. We visited a handful of beaches for a day and from what we experienced, we would agree with the travel books for amount and variety of fish you see and the beach if very nice too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent a beautiful and healthy week here. The cafe is delicious. Rooms were clean but short on towels, you can just ask for more. Need more selections from the cafe for dinner. However they do have good key lime pie and veggie plate. We ate breakfast in our room, nice supply of dishes and cooking utensils. Nice salt pond views.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This year my wife and I spent 3 days in a Studio and I spent 3 more days in a Banana Cabana. This facility is great as long as you realize it is off the beaten track. If you need cell phone access, a TV and 4 star amenities this is not for you. If you want to turn off the world, this is the place. The bar and restaurant are nice but you will need some variety after a day or two. The Banana Cabana would be pretty cozy for 2 people but it is 33 % cheaper.

I hope this place does not close like Maho Bay. It would be a tragedy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We come to St John every year, and normally opt for the Cruz Bay. Once again, we spent 9 lovely days at Garden by the Sea in Cruz Bay (highly recommend!). Then we went to the slower side of the island, and spent 4 nights at Concordia. What a pleasant surprise! We booked a queen efficiency, and it was lovely. Tile throughout, lovely platform queen bed, a nice day bed, functional kitchen, GREAT bathroom, and a wrap around deck with views of Salt Pond. So quiet and breezy. We've already booked for next year.

Plenty of storage (Ikea type storage cubbys). Clotheslines to hang bathing suits. A small fridge and a two-burner propane range top. A microwave, and enough dishes for the two of us. An enormous shower. Only weird thing about the bathroom--the mirror was hung over the toilet, not the sink. My husband sure had fun shaving!

Our room was right about the pool, which allowed us to use the WiFi from our porch. I thought noise might be a problem, but it was dead quiet at night-time. All in all, the only negative I can say about the place is the restaurant--the food was so-so, and the service was laughably dreadful. With all of the great places to eat on the east side of the island (Miss Lucys, Shipwreck Landing, Aqua Bistro, Skinny Legs, Tourist Trap), do yourself a big favor and skip the Concordia Restaurant and eat at one of those great places.

Room Tip: booked an efficiency queen, were upgraded to a garden queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Second trip to Concordia and it just keeps getting better and better. The location, a short hike to one of the great south side beaches s is superb. The Concordia Cafe is excellent and entertaining, and the staff is just the right blend of helpful, attentive and relaxed. We discovered more activities this trip, including a wonderful East-End kayak/snorkel trip with the Hidden Reef Eco-Tours group. We have never seen such a vibrant coral garden. We also discovered how easy, inexpensive and convenient the Vitran buses are. Just be aware that you cannot carry luggage on them. Go if you love views, beach (yes, good snorkeling there too), hiking and a relaxed atmosphere. Avoid the local taxi as much as you can. Unreliable would be a kind evaluation of his service unless you luck out and get his wife. Rent a Jeep or use the Vitran for getting back and forth to Coral Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Eco-Studio which we really liked. Upper level if you can get it for views and vaulte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Concordia Eco-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Studios

Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Concordia Eco-Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Studios Hotel St. John
Concordia Eco-Studios St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concordia Eco-Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.