We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally get to use the jeep's 4x4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Lameshur Bay

Little Lameshur Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bay with a beautiful, broad beach that is ideal for swimming and snorkeling, with a view of Bordeaux Mountain, the island's highest point at 1,277 feet, in the background.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Finally get to use the jeep's 4x4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

So many things I loved about Little Lameshur Bay.

The road to get there was a riot! It was so fun being able to fully utilize the 4x4, but watch out for whiplash. It had been raining on the island, so the mud was plentiful! It was honestly a blast.

We drove a ways and finally reached the Little Lameshur area. This may have been my favorite area, and can't wait to visit again next time. 1st - it was empty except for one other couple due to the thunderstorm and lightning on the island. While it was in the middle of a lull when we arrived, and it wasn't raining, it probably wasn't the smartest to get in the water. But we did. So now I can tell you about it.

They have a few picnic tables, and a pit toilet (husband reported back to stay the heck away).

Fantastic snorkeling out a bit and to the right by the rocks! There will probably be birds sitting on the rocks poking above the water. Head over there. Man, that is one healthy ecosystem going on down there. Just be very careful as the coral does come up and you don't have much room to swim around. We saw SO many fish, and we're thoroughly entertained by the many pelicans dive bombing for their dinner.

Again, Sea Turtles and Ray's were in abundance. We were told if it wasn't so rough due to the storm to follow the curve to the left, and head torwards Lameshur. The only scary thing was trying to come in. All of a sudden we got surrounded by Box Jellyfish (sea wasps), but we managed to not get stung. The other couple didn't fare so lucky, but we had some reef safe Burn Cooler in the car that we shared. They said it was immediate relief (They carry it at all the shops on the island).
By around 3:30 the no-see-ums were out in full force, despite the deet - we took off and got to 4 wheel it out of there. Fun Fun Fun!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Secluded spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What makes this beach so secluded is that the road getting there is horrible. To save money we rented a Toyota Yaris. Dumb descision!!! But we made it very, very slowly but surely. We even saw parts of a jeep laying on the side of the road. Aside from the awful road, this is a great spot. We even went back later in the week to hike to the petroglyphs. It is easier to go from Little Lamshure Trail to the Reef Bay Trail, to get to the petroglyphs. Nice ruins at top of the hill also.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We found this bay on St. John's East side by mistake but I'm glad we did. When we first arrived, it was busy with campers from the neighboring camp, VIERS. However, they soon left for the day and we had it all to ourselves.

It is a sandy beach featuring beautiful water, picnic tables, shade trees, easy walk to beach, parking and a restroom. It is at the end of a very bumpy road that made me greatful for our Jeep rental! It is situated next to a small ruin of either sugar or rum mill on one side and the ruins of the Yawzi camp on the other side which made for neat exploration and photo opportunities.

The beach was good for swiming and to be away from the crowds but if you're looking to see a lot of marine life, I have heard Salt Pond Bay is much better and we had good luck on the North side beaches, just my two cents. Little Lameshur is close by to Vie's and the Tourist Shack, however, and has neat ruins to explore so I would make an effort to stop by.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Adventurous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Little Lameshur is a ways off the beaten path. And you're thinking Whats the big deal? The big deal is that we're the brilliant people who rent a Ford Fiesta in St. John! If we had been in a Jeep, this dirt road full of pot holes might have been enjoyable. All that aside, the day we visited Lameshur the water was murky and snorkeling had limited visibility. It has a cool little trail that leads to a point with a great view of Little and Great Lameshur bay. Oh and I almost forgot there was like no one at this beach. Literally, there were like ten other people there when we arrived. I really felt that because there was so few people at this beach, it made it that much more romantic. They also have a good supply of picnic tables and grills. While, we were staying in Cruz Bay on the other side of the island, this was quite a trek. However, it was a nice ending to our trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family enjoys spending a day at Little Lameshur Bay! We find a spot with sun and shade for the day and just relax! The snorkeling is pretty good. A "must do" is take the very short hike up to the ruins...incredible view and photo spot!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Lameshur Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Little Lameshur Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Lameshur Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.