We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canella, gelateria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caneel Bay

Caneel Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Made up of seven white-sand beaches along St. John's north shore, all but one are part of the private playground for Caneel Bay Resort guests.
St. John
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Canella, gelateria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I know this is relatively new and there is not a category for it on Trip Advisor but I highly recommend gelato at the Canella which is part of the gift shoppe. Gelato to die for and very reasonably priced. If we go more than 1 week without a gelato from here we are hurting. Our favorite is salted caramel but there are always many flavors to choose from. You can get it on a cone or in a bowl with a cone wafer cookie. Delightful and you should check it out, again and again. One of these times I will have a scoop of pink grapefruit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice for snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean quite area for snorkeling. Lots of fish, conch and other creatures. Nearby resort with restrooms, bars, stores and restaurants.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty, but nothing there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

It is a very small beach. When we went it was pretty deserted. It's beautiful with clear waters, but there are much better beaches in STT and STJ.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Out of 7 beaches there's only 1 open to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

After making a wrong turn on our hike from the entrance at the National Park in Cruz Bay we finally got to Caneel Bay. To get there you have to get off the trail at Honeymoon Beach and then walk another 5+ minutes along the access road to Caneel. OR you can take a taxi to Caneel Bay Resort and they'll direct you to the public beach.

We stopped at the very first beach and heeded the sign that said the chairs and other equipment (there were floats) were for hotel guests only. We had our own beach chair and set up away from the lounge chairs set in the sand. There was good snorkeling especially around the underwater pipes that run parallel to the shore line. We were there about an hour before a resort employee bounced us. He was very nice about it. Apparently we could have used the main beach (that you could see from where we were) but we couldn't take our chair on that beach. Since Caneel was our first stop of 3 (we still had Honeymoon and Salomon to go) we packed up and left.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

7 wonderful beaches, peace and quiet. Great place to sit back and relax.. Snorkeling great with lots of turtles and sting rays. Beautiful tropical fish and coral reefs. Tennis pros are the BEST!
In regard to the previous review about the $20 fee to Caneel, I am betting they are talking about the parking fee. There is no fee to enter the beach, but there is a fee to park on the property.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caneel Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Caneel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caneel Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.