We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Pond Bay

Salt Pond Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic bay on St. John offers a secluded beach with good swimming and snorkeling, plus a graded hiking trail leading to and from the beach and picnic area.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved this Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were staying just up the road from Salt Pond so we went there a couple of times. Beautiful sandy beach. Loked for turtles but didn't see any. Hiked over to Drunk Bay and up to Rams Head, which has an amazing view. Parking is at the top of the hill, so it takes about 5 minutes to walk to the beach.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    93
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The walk has a slight incline and is a rocky road, but worth it. The beach is a large crescent and it is a deep beach in comparison to some of the other strips of sand on St. John. Go here for the fantastic snorkeling - far left and far right for the reef fish, fans, elk horn corals, and barracuda, but also snorkel in the middle - saw more turtles than we could count!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Long walk to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'm always up for trying new beach spots but this one I could do without on St. John. It's definitely a big beach but the snorkeling was tough with the currents. I actually felt a little nervous trying to swim back... It's a long steep hike back up to the top. We did stop at Lucy's restaurant on the way back that "Miss Lucy's" definitely try their dark and stormy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It may be a long drive, but it's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Salt Pond Bay is on the other side of St. John from Cruz Bay. It takes some driving to get there but it's well worth it. You have to hike maybe 1/4 mile or so to the beach, but there are relatively few people there and the snorkeling is great. You should go off to the right, along the rocks, then cross to the other side. You'll see cuttle fish, we saw a nurse shark, great fan coral. I even saw a barracuda there. It can get very hot and there's not a lot of shade, so be aware of that. There is a restroom that's okay, but no running water or anyone selling anything to drink so bring plenty with you.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach and Amazing Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We took the bus from Cruz Bay to Salt Pond Bay. Kind of a scary bus ride, but well worth the effort. There is an amazing hike to Rams Head at the end of the beach. Take lots of water and food to the beach as there are no facilities.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Pond Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Salt Pond Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Pond Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.