We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksnest Beach

Hawksnest Beach
Virgin Islands National Park, Virgin Islands National Park 00831, St. John
Improve this listing
Visit Hawksnest Beach like an insider
Special Offer
$31*
and up
Beach Day Pass at Honeymoon Beach in St John
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow, sea-grape-tree-lined stretch of sand is a popular beach on St John, especially for island residents, which offers gazebos for parties, barbecues or family get-togethers.
michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Relax and enjoy the beauty. We loved our snorkeling here and had a nice morning. It is not far from Cruz Bay so easy to access.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    63
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was one of the best snorkeling beaches we visited. The coral and variety of fish were very good. We even floated above a turtle and watched him (or her) swim among the coral for about 10 minutes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Turtle Alert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hawksnest Beach was fabulous! It is a quick drive from Cruz Bay. We snorkeled and within 20 yards of the shore found colorful coral, sea fans and loads of fish. After lunch we ventured a little further out and saw a SHARK and followed a sea turtle! It was the outstanding! Trunk Bay is a fabulous beach but Hawksnest has everything you would ever want to see in the water. I highly recommend this beach.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful reef, Beautiful beach. Get there early do to limited parking spots (maybe 20.) If you do not get there early go via taxi. The water is so clear blue with many fish and sea turtles. Great bay with great views. There are bathrooms, picnic tables, and changing areas. No facilities for food or drink. Bring your own equipment and food and you will have fun!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,063 reviews 2,063 reviews
1,116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,093 helpful votes 1,093 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This beach is not far from Cruz Bay. It's gorgeous: clear blue water, very white sand and plenty of shade.
In the early morning is very quiet, just a few people.
It has a nice picnic area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Hawksnest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksnest Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.