We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksnest Beach

Hawksnest Beach
Virgin Islands National Park, Virgin Islands National Park 00831, St. John
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This narrow, sea-grape-tree-lined stretch of sand is a popular beach on St John, especially for island residents, which offers gazebos for parties, barbecues or family get-togethers.
minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great beach day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

nice facilities and plenty of shade. convenient parking and an easy walk to the beach beautiful view and beach was not very busy

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    53
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of my favorite beach, great white sand, very narrow, lots of natural shades, restroom,......................

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My teenager's had been at this beach 3 years ago and remembered as a favorite because it was one of the few that had great waves. It is still a favorite and did not disappoint, beach was a little narrow though not much room. Hang anything valuable in the trees or bushes or they will get washed away.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Beach--great snorkeling!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of our favorite snorkeling spots on the North side.
Lots of shade.
Close to parking.
Restooms on-site.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best swimming beach in St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my wife and I loved Hawksnest bay!! You can't go wrong with any beach in St John, but we found this to be the best swimming and wading beach. both times we visited is was far less crowded than Trunk bay, and offered similar if not better wading/swimming. The second time we visisted it was late afternoon, and we flated in the water as the sunset colors started. by this time there was no one else on the beach or in the water, and it was very magical to have these views and this swimming area to ourselves.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Hawksnest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksnest Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.