We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksnest Beach

Hawksnest Beach
Virgin Islands National Park, Virgin Islands National Park 00831, St. John
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$89*
and up
Caneel Bay Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow, sea-grape-tree-lined stretch of sand is a popular beach on St John, especially for island residents, which offers gazebos for parties, barbecues or family get-togethers.
minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great beach day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

nice facilities and plenty of shade. convenient parking and an easy walk to the beach beautiful view and beach was not very busy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank delfi_ep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of my favorite beach, great white sand, very narrow, lots of natural shades, restroom,......................

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My teenager's had been at this beach 3 years ago and remembered as a favorite because it was one of the few that had great waves. It is still a favorite and did not disappoint, beach was a little narrow though not much room. Hang anything valuable in the trees or bushes or they will get washed away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty Beach--great snorkeling!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of our favorite snorkeling spots on the North side.
Lots of shade.
Close to parking.
Restooms on-site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best swimming beach in St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my wife and I loved Hawksnest bay!! You can't go wrong with any beach in St John, but we found this to be the best swimming and wading beach. both times we visited is was far less crowded than Trunk bay, and offered similar if not better wading/swimming. The second time we visisted it was late afternoon, and we flated in the water as the sunset colors started. by this time there was no one else on the beach or in the water, and it was very magical to have these views and this swimming area to ourselves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoogFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Hawksnest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing