We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hike a mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlemon Cay

Waterlemon Cay
Water Lemon Cay Beach Virgin Islands National Park,, Virgin Islands National Park 00830 ‎, St. John
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
and up
Best St John Snorkeling Cruise to Cruz Bay from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short swim from Leinster Bay, you'll find some of the best snorkeling on this small island, with its plethora of marine life.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hike a mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

You hike about a mile to get to this beach. It is an easy stroll next to the water. There are some ruins nearby but we did not explore them this day. There is a small island you can swim to if you care to do so, but there is a slight current when you return so if not a strong swimmer, I would not go there. Snorkeling is nice, but not nearly as nice as Maho.

Visited August 2014
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The most memorable snorkel from the shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

There are certainly areas with snorkeling on St John and off that will offer more unique sea life(Salt, Indians) but for an all inclusive outdoor experience head to water lemon -make sure to arrange for a cab to come back if you have not rented a car as they come infrequently-take in the sugar ruins right up the hill if you have time then hike the approx 20 minute path along the shore line(30 if you are a slow walker like I am) make sure to have some type of shoe but I did it in sandals and it was fine. Along the way see the beautiful scenery and amazing flora and fauna especially the mongoose and hummingbirds and pelicans.See the ruins and then for good swimmers snorkel across the bay from beach to the cay or for less strong swimmers go a bit further and come down in front of the cay-just watch the rocks on the entrance if you do the closer to the cay entrance.You will see beautiful starfish sea turtles and amazing fish make sure to go with the tide to make around the cay swim easier then flop down on the cay and congratulate yourself and enjoy the view!

Visited July 2014
3 Thank Jacki217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York- Long Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite snorkel stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our favorite snorkel trip. It takes about 20 minutes to walk the flat trail from Annaberg Plantation to the beach. Then, we dropped our stuff and walked a little further along the trail to get better access to the cay. It looks a little intimidating from the shore, but the swim is less than 5 minutes to the cay. Snorkel counter-clockwise around the island to avoid the strong current.

Visited July 2014
1 Thank KerrieN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“rocky beach but cool snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Recommend this cove, as well. It's slightly less pristine in appearance than Trunk Bay, but well worth it. Not great beginner spot but great after a day or two of getting the hang of snorkeling.

Visited July 2014
Thank rebecca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try to go on a calm day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We left for Waterlemon around 10am, to a few sprinkles. By the time we got there it was sunny, but windy and the water was rough. The hike to the rocks was easy and interesting. We saw so many hermit crabs in and out of their holes along the way. We passed the beach and kept going to a huge rock. We were able to hang our stuff in the tree, and didn't need to worry about it.
As soon as we got in, there were fish everywhere. We saw a Manta ray, and some of the biggest parrot-fish and stoplight fish yet. Plenty of file fish, angels, and the most amazing brain coral I've ever seen. Very cool. The water was very wavy and lots of current. I brought my noodle with, thankfully, as it was needed. We went around the Cay counter-clockwise, but still a lot of current and chop. We stayed out for about 2 hours, thanks to the noodle which we shared. I really couldn't get enough - we also saw a green sea turtle which we hung with for awhile. By the time we were getting out, it was a little after 1 and the water was calm as could be. I'm not sure if it's tide related, or just happened to be due to the weather. I'll keep it in mind for next time though.

Visited May 2014
2 Thank Chigirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterlemon Cay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John

Been to Waterlemon Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing