We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm waters and decent snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlemon Cay

Waterlemon Cay
Water Lemon Cay Beach Virgin Islands National Park,, Virgin Islands National Park 00830 ‎, St. John
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$225*
and up
St John Snorkeling Cruise to Cruz Bay from St...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Snorkeling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short swim from Leinster Bay, you'll find some of the best snorkeling on this small island, with its plethora of marine life.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Calm waters and decent snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you're in the northern section of St. John this is probably the place everyone recommends to go snorkeling. Boat trips will probably end up taking you here as well. Waterlemon is the small island that is right off the beach. You would actually snorkel around the island itself. The snorkeling was decent, we saw a big turtle, tons of fish and some coral around the island. I only say decent because of the amount of dead corals was depressing. Since it's accessable by land, tons of people have snorkeled here and inadvertantly killed a lot of the corals by either touching them, hitting them with their fins, etc...

To get here you have to take a short hike from the main road, less than a mile to get to the beach and then swim over to the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    94
    26
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Watch out for the current!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When snorkeling here, keep walking all the way to the end of the path and set out for the rock structure. It is recommended to snorkel counter clockwise around the rock structure due to the current. We had to fin hard to get back to shore, since we didn't know this before we set out. The reef there is dense, with a lot of fish, rays, and turtles. A lovely place to bring a picnic for apres-snorkel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling on North Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

You have to hike a bit to get there, then swim to the cay...but it is well worth it. The challenge/time required is probably why the reef is so pristine and bountiful. Saw starfish only here.
We combined it with a hike to Annaberg Sugar Plantation ruins, and there were ruins at the beach as well.
Don't leave food items on the ground unless you want to donate it to mongeese.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Snorkling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Although a hike to get there this is a good spot for snorkeling. The only down side is once we did encounter sea lice (which bite). Worth it however because of all the starfish, etc. we saw!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“snorkeling delight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

best snorkeling from a beach in St John. On a future trip we will pack a full cooler and stay at least 4-5 hours in this area exploring, snorkleing, and swimming

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterlemon Cay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Waterlemon Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlemon Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.