We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pebble beach with good snorkeling.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leinster Bay

Leinster Bay
1300 Cruz Bay Creek, St. John, VI 00830, Usvi | 18. 363469, -64. 731270, Virgin Islands National Park 00830, St. John
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rocky, windswept bay on the northern coast of St. John.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice pebble beach with good snorkeling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the snorkeling and water.
Would have liked to find more sand to hang out on.
This beach required some hiking, so you'll need to take water and food if you need it. But because of the hike, it is not used as much. There were a lot of boats moored there however.
Also there are ruins behind the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“stretch your legs a little”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed the short walk over. Just a small beach but had room to throw down our sheet on the sand. Saw a turtle and a ray out in the water. Did not do Waterlemon as the Northern swells made water rougher than normal and this was my children's first snorkeling experience. Not as picturesque as other north shore beaches (Maho, cinnamon, hawksnest). easy to get lunch in Coral Bay after.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waterlemon Cay snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I took some local advice and hiked around to the rocky-beach side of Leinster bay, where you can enter the water and swim about 100 yards offshore to snorkel along Waterlemon Cay. This was the best snorkeling we experienced in St John from a beach area(go by boat to get out to some even better spots), because the swim out and depth deters more casual wading swimmers from standing up on the reef. Thus the reef is very much alive and less damaged than the coral around some of the bays that are more popular for casual swimmers and Cruise Ship excursions, such as Trunk Bay. There is a great variety of marine life here, and taking you time is rewarded as you pass around the small island

This leads me to the only warning advice I can give: you really need to go extra heavy on the suntan lotion and/or wear a swimshirt. I normally never burn and have olive skin, but because the sights here are so fantastic, I forgot to reapply and had no swim shirt, and the sights kept my bare back to the sun for over 150 minutes!! Suffice to say, the burn was pretty severe...

Sun protection measures aside, this is a highly reccomended half-day, and the swimming around the sandy part of Leinster bay is nice too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long walk with mongooses at the end.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We planned ahead, and brought snacks and water bottles with us. The water bottles were fine, but after about an hour of snorkeling, we returned to find that the mongooses (Honest, I looked it up. Mongooses is preferred to mongeese) had spirited away our chips and pretzels. Checking the underbrush, we determined that we were not the first victims. Plenty of wrappers.

Biggest drawback is the large number of 3-4 inch stumps, about 1 to 2 inches in diameter that stick up out of the middle of the trail. On the way in, I met a lady and her husband. She had fallen and I'm pretty sure she had a broken arm as a result. The fall was caused by one of the stumps. Be careful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice and secluded, great for snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My favorite place on St. John, it takes about 20 minutes walking from the parking lot, and it does not have an actual beach, but several spots were to put your beach chair. It is very quiet an a short swim away from wonderful snorkeling location. Nice hiking around here too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leinster Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Leinster Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leinster Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.