We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turquoise water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
+1 340-776-6201
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Trunk Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$125*
and up
St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island...
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Turquoise water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Love this beach! Would go back anytime! The water is amazing. The crowd is quiet. Overall, stunning!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    251
    101
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“lovely beach, well kept park, but the reef is dying..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I love to snorkle and there were so many good reviews of Trunk Bay I was very excited to go there. Yes, the sea life was pretty good (there was even a small barracuda following me around) but the reef is dying, the coral looked horrible.. brown brown brown. Got a chance to snorkle Buck Island (St Thomas) the next day, it was better but still not good.

So very sad.

Beach is lovely, water pretty calm, wind blows but it is not incessant. Nice trees to tuck yourself into to stay out of the sun.

The park is well kept, there is a concession for rental and well as food. Clean restrooms and showers as well as picnic tables It is about 5 miles from the ferry (about an $8 cab ride).

Not sure what the cruise folks charge for this excursion.. but you can catch a cab to Red Hook, take the ferry, grab a cab in St John, pay the entrance fee to the park and return to the cruise ship for about $70. Ferry from Red Hook runs on the hour, but you want to allow time to get your ticket since there is only one counter and on heavy cruise ship days imagine it can be complete chaos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the snorkel trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful bay and beaches with life guards which is very nice. A little crowded but the snorkel trail was easily accessible and with many beautiful fish and coral.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the most beautiful beach i have EVER seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We did an excursion off a cruise ship, I had read that this beach had been voted 'one' of the most top ten most beautiful beaches, well if this was 'one of' i would love to see the other 9 as this was PURE paradise.
I never in my wildest deams thought a beach could be this beautiful.
The sand was powdery white, almost as soft as icing sugar, the sea was the most aqua blue and warm, I could sit and watch this beach for the rest of my life.
The only down side was we only got an hour and half here.
The boat trip was an hour or so from St Thomas, then a taxi ride from the st john port to the beach was a further 10 minutes or so.
The showers were nice, there was a little shop too. The beach was so clean and it really did feel like paradise.
This wasnt a 'cheap' trip as there are 4 of us, but was worth EVERY penny and would I go again? oh I do hope so as this was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime, which I want to do again hehe

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Crowded, but loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had to come here...as it is one of those places that you always see in travel magazines. It's seriously one of the top 100 places to visit with your children. Well, if they're American- and it's not insanely expensive to travel here. As I digress... this beach was the one we visited the most. Why? The conveniences nearby. The beautiful reef and it's multitude of colorful sealife. Did I mention the frozen beverages available? It's toursity, yes. But, sometimes you just need to have modern conveniences around you to make you feel 1. safe 2. comfortable. I liked the beach patrolling lifeguard for security. Especially whilst my children were paddling around the reefy area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trunk Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.