We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go in the evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is supposed to be the most popular beach, but my husband and I never saw the crowds because we went after 4:30pm. All the facilities close at 4:30, so that does mean no bathrooms or showers (and no $4 fee), but it really is one of the prettiest beaches on St. John, and you practically get the beach to yourself if you go in the evening. There are some waves here, which were fun for us, but probably not good for young or inexperienced swimmers. There is also the snorkel trail, but go while there is still light.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    164
    73
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Trunk Bay is a beautiful beach with soft, white sand and crystal clear water. We recently spent a few hours here while on a cruise. The longer we were there, the more crowded the beach became. FYI... they do have showers you can use if you want to change before leaving.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the most amazing beaches I have seen ....a must to visit! Lots of snorkeling and relaxing to do!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was the perfect place to exchange our wedding vows, presided over by Anne Marie Porter...the "barefoot minister" who made it extra special and so very beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to trunk bay from st thomas on a excursion from carnival . We took a boat ride about 40 minutes from st thomas, boarded a bus to the beach. We stopped at a overlook on the way, one of the most beautiful scenes you'll ever see. The beach is stunning, the snorkeling was ok..I would love to go back..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trunk Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trunk Bay to your Saves list