We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
+1 340-776-6201
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$125*
and up
St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island...
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to Trunk Bay this March on a stop during our cruise. We left the ship early and were one of the first people there. It was a bit chillier than anticipated and if I had to do it again I would have left an hour later. The beach was not packed since it was a week day and the semi-secluded location was delightful. The view from the beach was absolutely wonderful and I look forward to going back again.

For those on a schedule, the transportation between St. Thomas and St. John was very good and ran on time. The people seemed to be friendly and raised no cause for concern. Transportation from the pier, which had numerous shops and places to eat, was convenient and safe.

Lastly, there are toilets and changing areas there, so people who are looking for those accommodations no need to worry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    204
    81
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the most beautiful beach we have ever been on. We went on an excursion from St. Thomas and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. From the water taxi to open air bus to the snorkeling the trip is well worth it. I can't say enough about this beach, if you get a chance go!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Soooo worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Try to get there early before the cruise ships make their runs. The underwater trails are awesome...bring your snorkeling gear. Loads of fun and lots to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A beach with everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice long beach with concessions (including bar) and rentals. The snorkel out the the island was easy and had some pretty coral and fish. Lifeguard was always blowing a siren at incoming watercraft which I found alarming. Thought a shark was coming or I was doing something wrong.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

During our visit to St. John we went to Trunk twice. This is the only beach where you pay (4.00 each), but is a small price to pay. The beach has modern restrooms, a small gift shop, snack bar and bar. There is also a,lifeguard on duty.

At times the beach can be crowded, but it wasn't bad. The water was unbelievably beautiful as we're the grounds. The views were spectacular. Snorkeling was pretty average; some fish, a couple of nice coral formations.

If you go to Trunk arrive early. Parking is limited. This beach is popular with excursion operators, so you do run into cruise crowds at times.

We loved it and will go back when we return.

For a great view of the beach go to the overlook on the highway toward Cruz Bay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trunk Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.