We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Definition of "Baby Powder Sand". Beach and facilities are IMMACULATE. Snorkeling decent. Pina coladas available near the snorkel rental hut are TASTY. Would definitely go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    164
    73
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“beau-tiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a wonderful spot to relax or snorkel.
Love that they rent snorkel gear, serve drinks and have a bath area with showers. It is one of the best beaches on the island!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the World's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We returned to St John after a short visit on a cruise several years ago. It is still the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. It normally gets very crowded depending on how many cruise ships are visiting St Thomas. The week we were staying on St John, huricane Sandy had caused heavy surf which ruined the snorkling and eliminated almost all of the visitors. We had the entire beach to ourselves for most of the day of our visit. We loved it! We found one of the dry spots high on the beach under the shade trees and set up our beach chairs for a great picnic. This is one of the few beaches that has full restroom facilities, showers and snacks available. I recommend renting a jeep on St John so you can visit several of the great beaches in the National Park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This beach is breathtaking. Unfortunately, I was there at the end of Superstorm Sandy, so the water was still rough and the visibility was nill. There is an underwater trail there, but I couldn't see it. I saw one 2-3" fish and some rocks. So, I am hopeful on another visit, there will be more to see. If you are staying at a resort and traveling out from Cruz Bay, it is not a cheap trip. We spent $47 between taxi, park fee, locker rental, etc. And, we stayed for an hour....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a great day of snorkeling and relaxing. Beautiful beach. Not to crowded with plenty of room to have your own space

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trunk Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trunk Bay to your Saves list