We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendip Vacation Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serendip Vacation Condos
Save
You added Serendip Vacation Condos to your Saves list
9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off 3 Nights or More
fedekat
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We did not plan to stay at Serendip, but ended up there after snowstorms delayed our trip. It is a good option for those who want a kitchen, as we do like to cook on vacation to save money. The facility is in good shape but note it is in a residential area that is close to town so you don't feel exactly "secluded." But on the other hand, it is super convenient and close to everything. Everything was well maintained, clean and Andrea was very helpful. Overall, a totally suitable option for those looking for a condo accommodation in St John.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family recently stayed at Serendip for 4 nights (3 sisters in Alpha and parents in Juliette). The pictures and description of Alpha on line do not do it justice. It was a perfect location, amazing few, HUGE veranda, kitchen with absolutely everything you need, dining area with bar stools....tons of hang out space. My parents were in Juliette (which was a studio) and although nicely laid out it was not where they spent most of their time. The view is minimal and it's a bit cramped. Most nights we would comfortably hang out on the veranda with 5 of us...could have fit at least 10 comfortably.

The condo included unexpected surprises like beach towels, beach chairs (although they need some replacing so check them before you bring them as many don't hold in place), coolers, and tons of kitchen items.

One important bit of information is that I would highly recommend renting a car if you are staying here. The hill is incredibly steep and would make your trip less enjoyable. We just drove into town every night and parked at the free gravel lots.

It's important to mention that there are several chickens and dogs in this area so it can get a bit noisy....especially around 6 AM....but it's time to wake up and enjoy the island at that point anyway!

Michelle was very welcoming and was there if you needed her. I would highly recommend this place, particularly Alpha and plan to come back again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Serendip for one week, and for the most part, it was a positive experience.

PROS: Very clean and spacious, management is hands on, will assist with any questions, view is GREAT. Everything is in each unit that you would need. Two stores are close to get food and supplies. Westin Hotel is close, you can go spend the day, no charge. Beach there is fabulous.

CONS: Without a car, this could be difficult unless you are willing to take a taxi into town. Units are somewhat outdated, but everything worked (except no water one morning). Biggest concern was the noise at night. Because you have a steep hill behind you, vehicles have to gun it to get up the hill, and some don't have good exhausts. Roosters are all over this island, and they are non stop with their crowing. There are several dogs that live in close proximity that at times bark and bark and bark. We didn't like to run the A/C just to drown out the noise, but that's an option. We did sleep one night in the living room, as it's further away from all of the commotion.
If you have a car, you will have to sometimes park in the lower level, which is a hike up to the rooms for some. Serendip is not for the handicap or immobile.

Taxi ride to town is $5.00 per person going in, and $6.00 per person coming home. Call the Westin Hotel and they will pick you up. If you rent a car, it should be at least AWD, as this town has some of the steepest roads I've ever been on anywhere.

Room Tip: Stay on the main or lower levels if steps are a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Serendip is a great value in St John. The property is very well maintained and management was helpful while here even though the owner was away. We loved the spaciousness of the deck with a beautiful view of the Cruz Bay car ferry dock as the condo sits high up on a hill. The condo was clean and had everything we needed to whip up breakfast before heading out of the day. We enjoyed drinks on the deck in the evening before dinner. The pool was nice to lounge in after a day on the beach. A few things that would be helpful to note if you are looking to stay here and to give you an idea what to expect. There is a pool but it is small, but who needs a big pool when you have beautiful beaches. There is a grill you can use, books/videos to borrow in the office and list of events going on in town during your stay. The shower in our condo was very small and water pressure was low at times but that wasnt an issue for us. The condo is at the top of a very steep (when I say very I mean very) hill which we walked several times and it kicked our but and we are very active people. I would probably rent a car next time we come here because paying for a taxi from town every time to get back to the condo can add up. Definitely rent a car if you have kids because there isn't much of a shoulder on the road in spots to feel safe to walk with kids. The condo has wifi which was very helpful for us. The bed in our condo wasn't very firm but that might be a plus to some as my husband loved that. This condo will have everything you need for a relaxing stay in St. John, but for the price, don't expect the units to be up to date with granite counter and new appliances. It could be a little loud at night if you sleep with the windows open which we did, rather than opting to use the AC and close the windows. I would certainly stay here again and would bring my son next time we visit. Great value and location to Cruz Bay (if you have a car). I can already picture us back there in paradise- enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed a 5-night winter getaway at Serendip and were very happy with our choice. The Coral unit was spacious and relaxing, with an awesome verandah and one of the best views in the complex. The large king bed was quite comfortable and the kitchen was extremely well-equipped. The entire property has lovely landscaping and it was fun to relax by the pool (my husband lolled in the hammock) and watch the sunset through the palm trees. We were amused by the bananaquits at the bird feeder and a large iguana that we caught sunning in the trees. Also, since the unit is on a tranquil side street, we found it to be perfectly quiet and slept very well with just the ceiling fan and didn't bother with the a/c. We opted to go car-free and, because the property is up a very, very steep hill, we mostly walked to town, about a 15-minute downhill walk, but then took taxis back up, $5 per person, which was still cheaper than a car. This was our first-time rental in St. John and it was a total win-win: comfort, space, amenities, view, and access to town.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have superior views but are up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My sister and I spent a week in Hibiscus (1 bedroom unit) and found it to be wonderful. The condo is well laid out, roomy and comfortable, very well supplied and had everything we needed - altho we only ate breakfast there, packed a lunch for the beach and ate dinner out. The veranda was very spacious with lounge and dinning patio furniture and we spent leisurely mornings and ended our day there, enjoying the spectacular view. The road to get there was a tad difficult (left turn on top of a steep hill), however, many roads in St. John are challenging so it wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: We choose Hibiscus as it was on the upper level and didn't find the stairs (one flight from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place is beautiful! The view from the veranda is amazing, the room is fully stocked with whatever you'd need and the owners are friendly and knowledgable. BUT, if you're looking for a quiet place to relax, this is not it. The condos sit right on a busy road that had cars flying up and down the road at all hours of the day and night. The neighbors across the street had dogs that barked ALL the time, mostly at night, and they did nothing about it. The ground keeper used his leaf blower every few days and it would go on for 20-30minutes. I would recommend this place if you're looking for friendly staff and beautiful views and comfortable rooms, but even ear plugs won't drown out the noise. I would know....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serendipstjohn, Manager at Serendip Vacation Condos, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for remarking on Serendip's beauty, view, comfortable and well-stocked rooms, and friendly and knowledgeable management!

In the 73 reviews on Trip Advisor (we were thrilled to receive the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in December), and in all of the guest book reviews posted on our website here http://serendipstjohn.com/guestcomments/index.html , we have never received feedback about noise before and we have taken it seriously.

We did have a groundskeeper who used a leaf blower at 4:30pm. Based upon your review we have issued a moratorium on leaf blowers at Serendip – a change that we have immediate and direct control over.

We refer to Serendip as “located within a quiet, residential neighborhood.” Locals leisurely walk their dogs along the road and neighbors stop to chat in the middle of the road, to ask about each other’s families, their health.

Serendip is on a secondary public road called Serendip Road and vehicles do drive up and down the public road, although we personally would not characterize it as a busy road. As it is a residential neighborhood, most traffic occurs when locals are leaving their homes for, and returning from, work. We agree that drivers coming down the steep part of the road go fast down the hill. There is nothing barring drivers from using the road at any hour of the day; although we are hard-pressed to think of a place that does.

In this residential neighborhood, there are dogs– St. John is a pet-lover’s paradise. It is our observation that neighborhood dogs bark when a pedestrian passes by and stops when the pedestrian is gone. We do recall that there was an isolated incident in December whereby a local renter left its dog unattended. We spoke to the homeowner. In turn the homeowner spoke to the renter. We have not heard a dog left to bark since that incident. Just the usual bark when a pedestrian passes by and then all is quiet again.

We only wish that you had shared your experience with us during your vacation so that we could have stopped the leaf blower in real time - if a guest provides feedback after their departure, we can’t improve the situation as it is going on.

We depend on our guests' feedback to improve, and thanks to you we have -- no more leaf blower! Thanks again for your remarks and thanks for helping improve Serendip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendip Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendip Vacation Condos

Address: 9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy St John in our 10 casual, reasonably priced one-bedroom and studio condos, located on 2 lush acres with wonderful views over Cruz Bay. Visitors from all over the world have enjoyed our affordable island style ambience reminiscent of "old St. John." Condos are fully equipped with all home-style amenities and wireless Internet access. One bdrm condo can easily sleep up to 4. Enjoy the casual ambiance of St. John with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendip Vacation Condos Hotel Cruz Bay
Serendip Vacation Condos St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendip Vacation Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.