We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree Charters

Palm Tree Charters
St. John National Park Dock, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
+1 340-642-8522
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beaches, Bars, Snorkeling, Shopping, Island Hopping. "You Choose the Cruise" Palm Tree Charters is located on St. John in the Virgin Islands. We provide a fun, action packed day at sea exploring the Virgin Islands. We will pick you up on St. John, or Tortola, BVI.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Charter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent the final day of our vacation earlier this week with Capt. John on the Palma Bella. We've been to St. John many times, and this was our 3rd private charter - we've used a different company each time for a variety of reasons. This was our first time with Palm Tree Charters. I've truly never had a bad charter experience on St. John, and Capt. John was no exception. He was laid back, gracious, and made sure we had a fun, safe day on the water. I appreciated Sue's emails prior to our trip - she collected all of our information in advance so minimal paperwork was required once we arrived for our charter. One thing Capt. John does better than our previous charter captains - he has really good relationships with the folks at the C&I office on St. John, Soggy Dollar and Willie T, so we were treated very well at all those places. Drinks were served quickly on a busy day at Soggy Dollar, we received actual smiles from the C&I office (which is really a shocker) and we overall left with good memories. Thanks Capt. John, we will be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another Trip creating Family Memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This week we took our 3rd trip with Captain John! We customized our day to the BVIs and it included snorkeling The Indians, Pirates Bight, Willy Ts for lunch, and the entire afternoon at the Soggy Dollar. Captain John was so charming and accommodating to all of our needs. Our children (30 something) ;-) believe that this day is the highlight of their week! When we return to St. John next year, reserving a day with Captain John is the first thing on our itinerary!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another Awesome Day with Palm Tree Charters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our third trip to St. John and our third Awesome Day at sea with Captain John Brandi of Palm Tree Charters! We decided to stay in US waters this time to snorkel some spots that would normally require a long hike or boat ride to get to. We had snorkeled Congo before and really enjoyed that...so that was our only "must do"...the rest was up to John and he knew just where to take us...The Tektite, Christmas Cove, Lovango, Mary's Point, Hawksnest near the point...all GREAT snorkels! We had lunch at Joe's Rum Hut which was a first for us...yummy! Thanks John for once again making the day spent with you a highlight of our family's trip! And thanks to Sue for help scheduling this memorable day! We look forward to our next visit and day with Palm Tree Charters!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sampson Family Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our 2nd charter with Captain John and Palm Tree Charters. Amazingly enough we traveled on the same exact date, just 2 years apart! We spent a good amount of our time snorkeling around the Indians and the Caves which was FABULOUS! We had lunch at Willy T's and then headed to Sandy Spit and Soggy Dollar. Could have spent 2 days out there snorkeling and relaxing. The weather was good, not spectacular, but the service from Captain John made up for the intermittent cloudiness. John was very informative on the sites along the North Shore as well as the "Sahara Dust" that was causing our "hazy" weather. BEST DAY EVER, and although it will be at least 2-3 years before we make it back again, we will certainly book another trip with Palm Tree Charters.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
“Palm Tree Charters is top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had John take us to the Caves for Snorkeling, the Willy T for lunch, Sandy Spit for relaxing and then to the Soggy Dollar Bar for Pain Killers. My wife and three kids ages 6,6, and 9 had a great time. I have spent many weeks cruising the BVI's and Palm Tree is a wonderful experience. You get the boat all to yourselves it is clean, fast and rides smooth with plenty of shaded or sunny seating. John is a gentleman and does not get overly stressed about anything. We will use Palm Tree again and found this to be the highlight of our 12 day trip to St. John.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Tree Charters also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Palm Tree Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.