We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gallery with high quality local art.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bajo El Sol Gallery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bajo El Sol Gallery
PO Box 37, Cruz Bay, St. John
340.693.7070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Cruz Bay
Attraction details
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely gallery with high quality local art.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We never leave our favorite island without at least one visit to Baja El Sol gallery. It has s quiet serenity that makes it a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle below it in Mongoose Junction. It also features some of the best - if not the best - local artists on St.John whose works include oils, water colors, experimental pieces, paper pieces, jewelry and some of the most perfect wood carvings to be seen anywhere. Well worth a stop.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Features local artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Owner was very helpful and friendly. Bought Caroline Rogers' beautiful photo books there so we can enjoy the reefs and mangroves even without getting wet.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Gallery on St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We never fail to visit Bajo El Sol Gallery when we are on St. John, and seldom leave without finding a piece of art we really love.There is always a wide and beautiful selection of Caribbean -themed oil, watercolor, and acrylic paintings, jewelry, and art objects, and are all created by local artists. We like bringing a bit of the Caribbean back with us into our cold winter, and can think of no better way than a beautiful piece of artwork to keep our memories fresh. Owner Tom Hitchcock is usually on duty, and will cheerfully fill you in about any of the artists and their work if you ask. We learned years ago that we could shop freely and not have to worry about getting artwork back in our suitcases. The gallery is experienced in shipping work to the States and elsewhere and our purchases have always arrived safely. Bajo El Sol is upstairs in Mongoose Junction in Cruz Bay, and is well worth the short climb up the stairs!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Buy Local Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The owners Tom and Livy Hitchcock have managed this gallery for many years. She is an artist. They feature a range of local art, photographs, glasswork, and high quality crafts. Prices are reasonable, and we've purchased many items to take back with us to remember our time on St. John. This is located in Mongoose Junction.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bajo El Sol Gallery also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Bajo El Sol Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bajo El Sol Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.