We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great spot for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cruz Bay Landing

Cruz Bay Landing
Parkside, Frank Powell Park | Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
+1 340-776-6908
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Casual park dining, located directly across from ferry dock. Features St John's only coffee bar and a 22 foot shuffleboard table. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Check out our menus online. Open from 7am - 9pm.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still a great spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is not JJ's anymore, but the breakfast is still great. I think the food is better. Really enjoyed it as did everyone in our party.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    60
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wish I could be happier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

When the twins sold the famous Woody's (formerly home of the best happy hour), one Todd, stayed around and bought JJ's Texas in the park by the dock in Cruz Bay. Let me start with the best part. The bartenders are very friendly and professional and pour a very good drink that is worth the money. They have indoor and outdoor seating and the staff is friendly. They also have a shuffleboard table that can be fun and you can watch the people in the park and those arriving on the ferry across from the park. One night they had a lovely singer accompanied by a steel drum for the few of us who were there.
Okay, the problems we faced were derelicts in the park getting semi-undressed in full view of the bar. Also, there doesn't seem to be any happy hour and because of that, it can get a little lonely over there and a little pricey. The biggest problem was one of four entrees at dinner. The burger was good, the vegetarian dish was said to be awesome and 1/2 a grilled chicken was super. But, my fried shrimp and crab cakes were left in the fryer way to long, almost black and I should have said something then.
This place has a lot of promise, and the food is good as are the drinks. But it needs some fine tuning to be the fun place that everyone wants to meet up at. Go for it Todd!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast, lunch, or pre-dinner cocktails.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Wow. This place is awesome!! Right in the park, nice breeze, clean cozy laid-back, "mason jar for glasses" atmosphere. Great service, even better food. The menu has old favorites and fresh unique additions like quinoa and edamame salad. The fish tacos were amazing!! Everyone at our table loved their meals. The drinks are unique and refreshing. And shuffleboard! What a nice addition to the island. Well done guys!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I live on St Thomas. We visit St John often. We normally eat at Beach Bar but decided to try something different. We shared the philly cheese steak and pulled jerked chicken. Absolutely delicious! Hats off to the chef. Mac and cheese... Yummy. Waffle fries.... Thank you. The bartender gave us excellent service! Go to the beach for a view... Eat at the landing for amazing food!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Soo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our visit and loved it!
Drinks were very good the best painkillers!
Fish tacos were mucho delicious.
Service was good and quick
Our waiter Stephanie did a excellent job.
I would definitely recommend d this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruz Bay Landing also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Cruz Bay Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruz Bay Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.