We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LaTapa

LaTapa
Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340-693-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kentucky
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Excellent food and service here...loved siting street side to people watch as well. The flavors were very good and the place has a nice menu as well. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    85
    33
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner w/ my family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great experience. Mediteranian theme. Exotic food, art & music. Enjoyed the whole experience and James Taylor was there!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great casual dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ate at La Tapa on the last night of our vacation and overall had a great dinner experience. The portions were large so the five us split three starters (small plates) and three entrees. We ate outside on the sidewalk and it was fun to people watch. Our waiter and the service were awesome.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food, ok ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We went here for my birthday, and we're definitely expecting something a bit more special given the reviews. But this is St John so it's very casual - on the main road to the beach, with plenty of traffic.

Despite that, the food was excellent, with fresh locally sourced produce in many cases. We shared some tapas and then had main courses and everyone was pleased, especially with the fresh tuna.

So I highly recommend La Tapa, but don't expect fine dining. It's more casual than that, but not any worse for it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, USVI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

So many people seem to like this place, bit I just don't see it. Crowded tables on a busy street with honking horns and homeless and drunk people from Woody's wandering around. Prices are crazy high for small amounts of food. My friend and I dropped over $200 for 2 apps, a shared entree and shared dessert plus 2 glasses of wine. Ridiculous. I will choose Zozo's every time over this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaTapa also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to LaTapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaTapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.