We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf Dining on St John” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaTapa

LaTapa
Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
340-693-7755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
St. John
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Shelf Dining on St John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very good food and top service in an enjoyable atmosphere. Great Bar Tenders...the owner is the chef. Great spot for a fine meal and special occasions as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    86
    33
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

One of the best restaurants we have been to in St. John. It is pricey but well worth it. We were sold as soon we saw fois gras on the menu. Absolutely delicious meal, fantastic service, and busy for a reason. Hope to go back soon!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, not for those on a financial diet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome. It was a little warm inside, but so is literally every place on the island. Very cozy tables and delicious food. The price was about what the other nice places were, but still very expensive. Definitely worth it for a nice night out. Bonus: they didn't tell at me for playing with the crawfish in the paella.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“All around spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at La Tapa on St. John two weeks ago when we went with another couple. The food was great as was the service. We each had a different seafood entree. The entire staff there is so very attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed some yummy sangria along with our meal. We had taken the passenger ferry over from St. Thomas and enjoyed a lovely ride back looking at the twinkling stars above and lovely lights on the hillsides of both islands.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Easily the best place in Cruz bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The chef is excellent, produce and seafood very fresh. We ate here multiple times to avoid the mediocre food in many other st.john establishments. We had the mussels, scallops, Gorgonzola Caesar, smoked salmon bruschetta, and passion fruit custard for dessert. All delicious. Also very quaint atmosphere, with friendly staff and diners.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaTapa also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to LaTapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaTapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.