We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hillcrest Guest House to your Saves list
Hillcrest Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Number 157 Estate Enighed | P.O. Box 33, Cruz Bay 00831-0033, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Clean comfortable rooms. Good location close to Cruz bay just up a hill not a bad walk to and from town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed at the Hillcrest while setting up my wedding in May 2010. The room I stayed in had a view of Cruz Bay (so I could see when people came in on the ferry); a kitchen (for breakfast before heading out for the day), A/C and a ceiling fan ( for those hot nights), parking right next to the house (for a rental car), a safe feeling to it (for a "hearty" walk to town at night) and is close to ZoZo's & both ferry's (car and passenger).

The common area has table and chairs for enjoying a bit of morning air and each room has a nice drying rack for drying off your clothes from the day's adventure.

The welcome basket, bacon and eggs is a nice treat for those of us who like to cook up breakfast "In House" before a day of planning for the big day or just hitting the beach.

If you are looking for a home base to explore the island with a local "Island" flavor that will not break the bank, Hillcrest is for you.

- Liam

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and I can say we had an excellent time. The previous reviews about the steep hill and the noisy air conditioner are correct but that should not discourage you from checking this place out. I can't say enough how nice Phyllis the innkeeper was and the view from the Frontside suite can't be beat in Cruz Bay. Everywere went downtown we would look up at the top of the hill and could see our place. Cannot wait to start planning our next trip here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I thought the St. John Inn was a bargin and a hidden gem when I stayed in october of 2009, but the Hillcrest Guest House is by far much bigger, nicer and was cheaper.
As the name states - it is at the TOP of a hill, and overlooks Cruz bay, so be prepared for a trek UP (and down) a hill.
The staff is very freindly and accomodating.
I would highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I went in with low expectations. We had been told that most places outside of the "resorts" were not what we were used to. What you pay $150 a night or more for in the continental US is not what you will get there. So we expected the worst and hoped for the best. We were VERY happy with Hillcrest Guest House! We were there for 4 days for a wedding, and wished we could have stayed longer!
Pros - Phyllis is amazing. She picked us up at the dock and gave us a quick tour around Cruz Bay with suggestions on where to eat and the grocery store. The room was clean, and the snacks, food and drinks she provided were great. The location is up a pretty good hill, but we walked it and it wasn't awful, but a taxi is not expensive. Our suite (the Orchid Suite) had a private drive so you could rent a car and always have a parking spot. The tvs, dvds, radio, cds and wifi were great too.
Cons - The hill could be a con if you don't rent a car or don't like to walk. There was no pool, but for us that wasn't an issue since we were there for a short time and the beaches are so much better.
All in all, it's not a 5 star hotel, but I would recommend the Hillcrest to anyone I know going there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Good: Phyllis is charming and accomodating to her guests, the room was fairly clean, the drinks and snacks were a wonderful way to start vacation without worrying about getting to a store, the walk TO town.
The Bad: Extremely uncomfortable beds; my husband and I slept fitfully at best and woke up with many aches and pains. The layout of our room "Peaceful Retreat" was incredibly user unfriendly with steps up and down all over the place from the bedroom to living area, up into the kitchen, and the bathroom was not conviently located to the bedroom. I thought I would definitely fall and break a bone when trying to get there in the middle of the night. The double bolted gates and doors everywhere is well beyond security conscious. The walk back UP the 60* angle road was tough. Don't know if this should actually be classified as a negative as we are a bit older (50's) and only in moderately good shape.

All in all it might be a good choice for someone much younger than us, or for those who are frugal and want to be close to town. Unfortunately, we will not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

If you are looking for a great place to hang your hat after a long day at the beach, this is it !
Phyllis the owner goes way beyond her duties to take care of you. The rooms are clean, (nothing fancy) and she even provides a fridge full of food upon arrival. My kids are 11 and love dogs, Phyllis has 4 Rotwillers and she let my kids play with them when we saw them out. The beach towels are provided and so is a cooler for you to pack a lunch to take to the beach. The views are great and for the price of this place you can't go wrong. Make sure to rent a car when you go because the huge hills will kill you, and taxi's to go around the island (9 miles) will cost you almost a day's rental fee. We will be back to stay with Phyllis in the future. Oh yea, she even gave my kids presents on christmas day!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Address: Number 157 Estate Enighed | P.O. Box 33, Cruz Bay 00831-0033, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Guest House is a romantic vacation rental accommodation with ocean and garden views. $185 to 245/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel Cruz Bay
Hillcrest Guest House St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.