We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised, Food was 4/5 and great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Rum Hut

Joe's Rum Hut
Wharfside Village | 4A Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 8332, St. John
(340) 775-5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised, Food was 4/5 and great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were on our honeymoon in St. Thomas and had planned to take a day trip to St. John. Due to the lovely government shut down, the beaches were closed, so we opted for enjoying the water at lunch. Honestly, we thought this was going to be another OK or gross bar food restaurant. However, I ordered the pizza and it was really good! The hubby ordered a sub and enjoyed it as well. I would definitely eat here again for the food and the view. We were pleasantly surprised and recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    114
    30
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Loved Joe's RumHut, the food was great and portions were HUGE! Happy hour is always an awesome deal, the view cannot be beat either. We did not try the pizza but it looked great and large enough for at least 4-5 people. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Food was good. Service was friendly. Typical tourist bar and food. Excellent Happy Hour prices. Lovely View.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best happy hour on st.john”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

ALL drinks are $3.00 from 4-6 p.m. Including all call brands. Nothing more needs to be said, except additionally, Joe's has great bartenders and a view that is unsurpassed except for perhaps Spyglass .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Introduced us to the BBC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were enjoying a nice drink with a view at the bar when the bartender handed us a little sample of a BBC (banana, bailey's, colada). It became and instant favorite of my husbands. The bartenders were nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Rum Hut also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Rum Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Rum Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.