We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Rum Hut

Joe's Rum Hut
Wharfside Village | 4A Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 8332, St. John
+1 340-775-5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was at Joe's. The chowder might have been the best we've ever had, and coming from New England that says a lot! We also had the turkey wrap with fries, and the fries were excellent! I had a mahi sandwich and it was perfect! If you are in Cruz Bay this is definitely a great spot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    94
    69
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, TX
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and lime en de coconut frozen drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived here about 4 pm and ordered a large pizza with sausage, green peppers and onion.
This was a delicious thin crust pizza, but was a bit pricey. I had the lime en de coconut drink and it was so good that I ordered it the next two times we ate a other places, but none were as good as this one. We sat at a table be the ocean and had a fantastic view. Service was very good and the waitresses were very nice. We were planning to come back but never made it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No thanks.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

So lets start with the good - great location, right on the beach. And the bad? We went for happy hour to grab a bite to eat based on reviews, and won't be going back. Our sodas had a lot of "stuff" floating in it on BOTH REFILLS (we just ignored it - but after the refills came back with stuff floating again we realized it couldn't be a fluke). The food (chicken sandwich and ultimate grilled cheese) was very blah. Edible, but below average. The service was the worst - they never came and asked how we were doing (we wanted some more dipping sauce and no one ever came to ask), they didn't ask how the food was, and they basically ignored us for the people drinking at the bar. We ordered two strawberry margaritas but they were out of strawberry and we had to pick something else. The food was average at best and the service was poor, so needless to say we will never be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wish we would've checked this place out sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We ate at Joe's on our last night on St John after hearing about it on a sailing trip. Nice place right on the beach with a cool vibe. Their food was delicious and service was quick. Great, friendly staff as well and the drinks weren't bad either!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beach bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Joe's is a good beach bar with a great view. Drinks are tasty and service is good. Great stop during happy hour that the younger kids seem to like.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Rum Hut also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Joe's Rum Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Rum Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.