We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay at Starview Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Villas
Save
You added Star Villas to your Saves list
1202 Gallows Point, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay at Starview Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at Starview and wish we were back there! Starview is a two story villa located in Cruz Bay just above Gallows Point, with beautiful views of the water. The villa itself was cozy, comfortable and clean. Fully equipped with everything you could want, cooler for the beach and bbq grill on one of the two outdoor patios. Nice and cold a/c, but the unit gets great air flow and we only used it at night. We walked into the main area of Cruz Bay often, straight down a VERY steep hill and then just had a cab bring us back up ($4 per person), very convenient. Bob and Marlene were wonderful hosts, picking us up and taking us back to the ferry and made sure we had everything we needed for our time on beautiful St. John. Thank you and we will be back!

Room Tip: Perfect for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stay on St. John several times a year. The house we normally rent was sold and not a rental anymore. This house is across the street, so we knew the location was going to be fantastic. Which it was a perfect location. Parking is a premium in downtown Cruz Bay, so if you stay here you don't have to worry, you can walk to town. The house was larger than expected. One bedroom(Queen Bed), Living Room with tv, Sun Room with table for eating, bathroom(shower only), full kitchen, large deck on the back and a nice little fenced courtyard in with seating out front. Beach towels and cooler provided. Could never get the internet working, but who wants to sit on there computer when you are in St. John. This is not luxury, but very clean and spacious. Only thing that could make this place better would be a King Bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohnvillas, Manager at Star Villas, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Good to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. WE do our best to provide the best value for the money. We check each villa prior to the arrival of the guest to insure that it is clean.
Not sure why the wifi didn't work. Will troubleshoot and make the necessary repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed 4 days at Papaya I and 5 days at Star View. Papaya I is the lower level of a 2 storied building while Star View is a 2 floor condo. Both are great. If you want to see a spectacular sunset everyday, stay at Star View. On New Year Eve, I could also watch the fireworks from the upper deck of Star View. The condos are clean and air-conditioned. The location can't be more convenient - 5 minute walk to downtown Cruz bay. Bob & Marlene are great hosts. I highly recommend this place. For restaurants, try Da Livio and ZoZo's.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Star View. It is a stand alone cottage on the other side of the pool from Star Villa. It is in a great location just up from Gallows Point, about a 5 min walk to Cruz Bay. The villa has a living area & full kitchen downstairs and the bedroom & bath upstairs. There is a spiral staircase, so it might make it difficult for people who have limited mobility, especially getting luggage up and down. There are two balconies, the upstairs has an excellent view! If you are looking for a nice little place to call home for your stay in Cruz Bay, check into Star View.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

our third year staying with bob and marlene in their star villa complex. they have about 5 or so villas on the edge of Cruz Bay, up past Gallows Point. the accomodations are nice and bob and marlene are a pleasure to work with. Gallows Point store offers a bagel breakfast and other sundries you might need for your villa. we used to rent cars on st john, but from here we walk into town, and take taxis or the bus if we want to go somewhere, or are returning from a hike. it saves money overall (rental cars are $75/day plus fuel) and avoids aggravation (we like the vacation from driving).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I visit St. John, United States Virgin Islands seven or eight times a year on business, and usually stay at Star Villas (vacancy permitting). The rooms in the various units have always been clean, the views sensational, and the decor in general (bamboo furniture, etc.) provide the guests with a real Caribbean ambiance. From the pick-up at the ferry dock on my arrival, to the return ride back on the day of my departure, I have always found Bob & Marlene Malacarne (owners) to be not only gracious and informative hosts, but always go above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one. There are certainly more expensive, and less expensive places to stay on St. John, but in my judgment (all things considered), this is an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I wish I had seen the review from trv08 on Feb 12 2008 before I booked - as it was spot on.

Regrets.

- I can certainly validate all the reviewer’s comments and I guess everyone’s expectations ‘are’ different as nothing has changed since - and the owners’ vitriolic,defensive, non-apologetic response is indicative of the lack of insight and low standards; as evidenced by the condition of the place. See photos for those unconvinced.
(No-one is going to spend their vacation complaining to owner that it’s a dump and needs gutting. No idea where all the "regular maintenance" was done. We certainly didn’t see any! “Some people are impossible to satisfy” certainly, but most folk expect it to be clean, adequately equipped and not falling apart.)

- We certainly weren’t expecting a used wet towel in the middle of the floor and discarded old food items in the fridgegreeting us on arrival. (Never a good sign.) We weren’t expecting everything to be so old, warn, broken and grubby, an old rusting grill that never got hot when we could actually get it lit, absence of drinking glasses, pans warn through the Teflon, rusted broken fridge we held on with tape, mold & stains on the curtains, no DVD/VCR, two old box TVs with grubby remotes (go downstairs to satellite box to control upstairs TV!), a rusting microwave - and absence of Wi-Fi signal despite the advert, etc etc etc

For the price paid for such a small place, this was really as sad and faded as the old prints on the walls. The owners may wish to plow some of their profit back in to a top-to-bottom refurb – not just a coat of paint on the walls. The potential is there is for a great little place a short walk from town center. Location is good. Condition isn’t.

When got talking to locals and they asked where we were staying their response was always the same – “Oh, too bad” or similar, was a comment heard several times as reported to them by prior renters.
The Villas appear to have a sad reputation in town whether the owners realize it not.
Star View NOT recommended unless you have the same low standards of the owners. This was by far the worst value for money of any my winter condo rentals in the Caribbean of the last ten years. (Stayed in a condo at Sapphire Beach St Thomas same day. Clean, fully equipped, modern and... same price... right on the beach.No comparison.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Villas

Address: 1202 Gallows Point, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAR VILLAS Affordable vacation rental villas with casual island ambience.If you are looking for accommodations in Cruz Bay but in a more affordable island setting, Star Villas is absolutely your best choice.Family owned and operated,we take a personal interest in each and every guest and provide you with the best possible accommodations at a very affordable rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Star Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.