We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering an island gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood David's

Driftwood David's
Lumber Yard complex, Cruz Bay 00381, St. John
+1 340-777-4015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local neighborhood sports bar and restaurant that offers fresh burgers, ribs, fish wings and fries. Daily specials ..Live music and dance nights..Call for more info
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Discovering an island gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been going to St John now for over eighteen years and have never really paid much attention to the Lumberyard. With the recommendation of a real estate agent on the island, we wandered into Driftwood David's and had the best meal we've had in a long time. We had met David by chance when we were looking at a property for sale and we very pleased to find that he had a restaurant in Cruz Bay. He is extremely personable and makes his guests feel welcome as soon as they come in the door. He has a wonderful selection of drinks and entrees and his prices are very reasonable. He also offers wine paring selections and the combinations are excellent. Don't miss Driftwood David's for a wonderful meal, great service and a promise to yourself to return again and again.

Cathy Velez
Philadelphia

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    46
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ribs :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Driftwood David's was the best food I ate during my week long stay on St. John and the happy hour special was very reasonably priced. Get the ribs happy hour special or not they are well worth it. Plus Dave was really nice and pleasant to with and remembered me the next day when I came back for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good value, great food. Friendly staff, wonderful atmosphere. A must see when in Cruz Bay. Good Happy Hour specials!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Prices and "normal Food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were a little worn out with the eating out and big menus. We went here for lunch because we wanted something completely relaxed, casual, and uncomplicated. Not that eating out on St John can't be all those things, we had been beach hopping and were salty and dirty looking. Nobody cared at DD. We ordered a delicious fish sandwich and a jumbo loaded hotdog. The prices were good and the staff very friendly. The location is not hard, in the Lumberyard in Cruz Bay, but the scenery is not what you go here for. It's right on the street and a little loud with traffic, but the food and relaxed atmosphere inside made you not care. It lived up to what we expected and more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome eats!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are here while we were on vacation. The ribs are the best we have ever eaten!!! Wonderful atmosphere! We will be returning!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood David's also viewed

 

Been to Driftwood David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood David's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.