We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the ribs, love the steak, love the shrimp.... Can't seem to stay away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood David's

Driftwood David's
Lumber Yard complex, Cruz Bay 00381, St. John
+1 340-777-4015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local neighborhood sports bar and restaurant that offers fresh burgers, ribs, fish wings and fries. Daily specials ..Live music and dance nights..Call for more info
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love the ribs, love the steak, love the shrimp.... Can't seem to stay away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

David really knows how to make food taste AMAZING!! With all homemade sauces, dressings and lots of love and time put into his meats and other dishes you are sure to find something that will make you say "YUM".

He also provides a nice view with a good breeze and occasionally has live music. I'd say a must stop while visiting St. John.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    46
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Looking for a great burger and some really good ribs? This would be the place to go to. Nothing fancy about it. Great place for a good burger and such, plus a good drink or two. Friendly service and a decent view. Located at the Lumberyard.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Driftwood David's is absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Driftwood David's has amazing food everything that is on the menu is amazing! If its shy of amazing its not on the menu. Amazing atmosphere, Amazing food, Amazing Drinks, and all at Amazing Prices! On top of all of that Amazing, nice, kind,and very polite people working there. If i was to go back to St. John I would eat there every day as i did after i found this place. To sum it all up Absolutely Amazing!!! and Ps. Dollar well drinks all day long and the ribs are the best things I've ever in my life eaten! Thanks Dave, Mike, and Brooke love you guys Thanks for the amazing experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I ate at DD's last week. The ribs!!! They are fall of the bone and the flavor is awesome. They are like a sweet peppery flavor. Service was very friendly. The beer is $3-4 and they even have a $1 drink special that was surprisingly very good. This is not a 5* restaurant but was even better than I had expected even after reading the other reviews. I encourage everyone to visit at least once while in St. John to make sure that I can go back to DD's on my next visit to St. John. The one downside is that they did not accept American Express. I prefer to choose my method of payment. The funny thing is that the bill was even delivered in an American Express folio. Hopefully, the restaurant will reconsider not taking American Express after they have been open a while longer. There are many places that I just don't frequent due to the inconvenience of them not accepting American Express.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Five stars, for the ribs and for Dave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This five-star review is based simply on two things: 1.) the amazing ribs at Driftwood David's, and 2.) the owner himself. My husband and I each tried the full rack of ribs for dinner, and they were lick-the-plate good. And I don't even usually like food with bones in it. I'm glad we both ordered a full serving - I don't think either of us would have been happy to share! The barbecue sauce is impeccable. And then the owner, Dave, is just incredibly personable. You can tell that he really cares about pleasing his patrons. His friendly demeanor warmed us right up on a rainy day, and I will definitely go back next time we are in St. John.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood David's also viewed

 

Been to Driftwood David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood David's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.