We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved The Lime Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Inn

The Lime Inn
20 Cruz Bay Qtr,, Cruz Bay, St. John
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 39 restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lime Inn restaurant is located in downtown Cruz Bay and has been a favorite between locals and visitors alike since 1984. Still owned and operated by owners Rich and Chris Meyer, your St. John experience is not complete without a visit to our open-air restaurant and a taste of our extensive menu. We are known for our wonderful staff and delicious and consistent meals. Join us for fresh grilled Caribbean Lobster or our whole jerk seasoned and pan seared snapper! You can also eat light with our selection of salads or our famous clam chowder. But don't forget, you can't finish up lunch or dinner without famous Key Lime pie. We are open for Lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30 to 3, happy hour from Monday thru Saturday at our courtyard bar from 3-6 (1/2 priced drinks), and dinner Monday thru Friday from 5:30 to 10.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Loved The Lime Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I went to St. John for our first anniversary...we found The Lime Inn on our first night on the island and we went back everyday, atleast for a cold drink. We did eat there for dinner twice and enjoyed the food very much. One night we had the Alaskan King Crab Legs and it was by far the best meal we had for eight days on the island. The staff was very friendly and professional. We would highly recommend The Lime Inn!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the stellar review! Those legs are goood. Hope to see you back again for the next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    251
    117
    40
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Twice in one trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our third trip to St.John, so we were familiar with the Lime Inn. On this trip, we went one night for dinner, only had the out bar and three small tables open, but we found a seat at the bar. Beer is cold, and the food is excellent. Only one server working, and he worked his tail off. Meatball sub (I don't eat seafood) was excellent, and was a large portion. Grilled Caribbean lobster was also delicious. We went back to this restaurant two nights later, and the owner remembered our names. Really made us feel welcome, which we appreciated. Crab legs this night were excellent as well. Always good food here, will definitely eat here again when we return to St. John.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us 2 times on your trip! The Out Bar is a cool little spot and we're glad you enjoyed it. See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was my birthday and folks recommended this restaurant as some place special. Only the prices were special, food was not very good and service was negligent. Waitress argued with me when I wanted a different sauce. Really? I would not return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
So sorry that you found your waitress to be rude. We pride ourselves on the best service possible and it does not sound like that is what your received. We also try to keep our prices as low as we can, and again, sorry that you did not find that to be the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We showed up with a party of 11 and the staff was terrific. We were seated quickly and served with care, Every dish was tasty and plentiful without being over the top. Seasoning was perfect and presentation was pleasant. The lobster was sweet and perfectly prepared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant since the 1980's and never miss at least one meal while on St John. The meal I had this year was the best ever- maybe I never had it before- Shrimp dijon- the sauce was to die for. The atmosphere is casual and fun. If you are looking for gigantic portions this is not the place for you but if you want a quality meal don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Glad you loved the dijon, its been a specialty of ours for 30 years. Can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Inn also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.